We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful ,Cosy Cottage in a lovely spot!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Molassy Cottage

Molassy Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom
The Garden
Molassy Cottage
Rear Garden
Garden
Kilkenny Castle
St. Canices Church & Round Tower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Gerry B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful ,Cosy Cottage in a lovely spot!!”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We`ve just returned from 10 nights at Molassey Cottage & had a great time.We were after a quiet break & thats exactly what we got, as the cottage is in a lovely rural spot but it is close enough to road networks & amenities so that you don`t feel isolated & the cottage is equipped with absolutely everything you need.
Once we got out of Dublin,we had no problem finding the cottage as Breda supplied excellent directions & when we arrived she had the log burner going & had stocked the cupboards with essentials so that we had a relaxing start to our break & she was there for any advice & information we needed throughout our stay.
All in all,this is a great spot to discover Ireland & if you`re after getting away from it all then there is nowhere better......& .your dog will love the huge garden & woods....i know ours did !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy log burning stoves.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVST83827...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous holidays!”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay in Molassy Cottage. Breda was very nice and helpful. She arranged absolutely everything perfect and impressed us with her warm hospitality. The cottage is perfect equipped with everything you need. The two fireplaces make a cosy atmosphere. The location is total quite and perfect for trips to the south or east coast of Ireland.We will come back- definitely.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm Irish welcome and charm at Molassy Cottage”
Reviewed 5 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Breda and Joe had though of all the creature comforts to make our stay homely and warm, literally and figuratively. Breda is so kind, helpful and loving; we felt we had known her for years. Could not do enough for us. Two coal and wood burning fires kept us toasty and the Icey winds at bay. Recommend to all who love rural peace and quiet (within easy driving distance) tasteful decore and clean, crisp linen. Thanks Breda and Joe

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen fire
Liked least: The religious icons
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niamhr01
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Idyllic family retreat”
Reviewed 22 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
5
people found this review helpful

I agree with others who reviewed here...Molassy Cottage was such an amazing stay I almost want to keep it a secret! Breda is the friendliest and most accommodating hostess you will ever meet and made our stay one of the best family trips we have ever had. Directions she provided are very accurate so its easy to find despite feeling like you're a million miles away from anyone which is so much of the appeal. The cottage itself is situated on a very secluded area which made it peaceful and so relaxing for our week there. The grounds and garden are fantastic for walks and climbing trees so made our four legged friends very happy not to mention the rest of us staying there. Its very central to many places so we could enjoy trips on many of the days there without travelling too far which was ideal when having an 8 month old and an excited pooch. Everything inside the cottage is pristine and immaculate yet so cosy and immediately makes you feel at ease. Cottage has wifi which made my teenage niece happy but with so many things on offer such as board games, DVDs, books, jigsaws (all provided by Breda) we were entertained from beginning to end. Rooms were so warm and welcoming and Breda made our trip much more stress free by providing travel cot, highchair, baby monitor, pram and everything else she could think of meaning our car wasn't laden down with all the usual essentials needed when travelling with a child.

We were already planning our next trip before we even left the place as each and everyone of us agreed this place is a one off - the welcome, the cottage and whole package is nothing we experienced before. Breda has made Molassy Cottage a holiday home that will have you return time and time again. We just hope that she will have places free for us once word gets out about this dream destination.

Cant recommend enough. This place gets full marks - on everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secluded Location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisiedai...
donegal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere inside and outside”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Whether it's bird-watching, golf, cycling or walking Molassey Cottage is the perfect base for a holiday. It's just off the beaten track so you have the lovely peace and quiet. Breda is the perfect host and is very helpful in every way. It's a home away from home and we would recommend it heartily.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing