We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Reunion”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Molassy Cottage

Molassy Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom
The Garden
Molassy Cottage
Rear Garden
Garden
Kilkenny Castle
St. Canices Church & Round Tower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
angela v
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Family Reunion”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Beautiful cottage in lovely setting. Just perfect for my family visiting relatives in the area. Many thanks to Breda and Joe for their great hospitality. Children can't wait to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorker...
Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Real Ireland”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Our family, including two adults and three children, stayed at Molassy Cottage for Christmas week 2013. The cottage was absolutely perfect, all infrastructure in working order, plenty of space inside to relax, sleep, cook and even entertain - one evening we had all of our Kilkenny family to the cottage for dinner and drinks. The frost covered fields were perfect for the boys to play and explore in a proper Irish way. The owner of the cottage was extremely hospitable, graciously decorating the cottage for Christmas to make us feel at home, as well as providing plenty of wood, tea, bread. It truly was perfect. This is an excellent choice for an American family looking for a taste of "real Ireland." As a New Yorker who spent summers in Ireland living with aunts, uncles and cousins, I can say that the stay in Molassy Cottage was exactly like my own aunt's home - except with modern IKEA furniture! The drive into Kilkenny city took us 20-25 minutes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie S
Cupar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect cottage”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

i stayed here for 5 days with my sister and her husband fantastic cottage highly recomended lots of space very clean

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: log fire and how clean the house was also very quiet
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murph6497
Monroe, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Molassy Cottage was a home away from home.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I can not say enough great things, not only about Molassy Cottage but about Breda Morris. The cottage was exceptionally clean, and she went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable, going so far as to give us directions, maps, and information on great places to visit. Breda even went so far as to give me a lift from Kilkenny to the cottage, and taking me to some great churches while in Kilkenny. We were treated as VIP guest not just renters. If you are ever thinking of going to Ireland this is a great place to stay, it is well located and the people are fabulous. I didn't just get to see Ireland I made some new friends and can't wait to see them again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatalieDa...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Secret Weekend Away”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Molassy Cottage for a long girls weekend as a gift to our friend. It was absoloutely perfect. There were only 3 of us but it would have been comfortable for double the amount of people. It was just what we wanted- a quaint cottage but with all the mod cons we need these days.
Breda the owner couldn't be more helpful, she gave us all of the advice we could need, perfect directions to find the hideaway and provided us with complimentary tea, coffee, bread etc to make our stay lovely. Couldn't recommend enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing