We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful Tranquilty”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Molassy Cottage

Molassy Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Molassy Cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom
The Garden
Molassy Cottage
Rear Garden
Garden
Kilkenny Castle
St. Canices Church & Round Tower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Ogormanat...
Ratoath
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful Tranquilty”
Reviewed 25 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in many holiday rental homes throughout Ireland and I have to say the majority have been great. Molassy Cottage stood out from the rest. It is located at the end of a country lane with with no adjoining properties other than some old out buildings and a barn.It was very private and quite (listen really hard and you might hear some traffic noise from the distance).
The house is very modern inside with everything you would need although it could do with a dishwasher (me being lazy again), which I believe is in the pipeline.
Our welcome was wonderful, we had let ourselves in and got settled when Breda and her wonderful son Shane arrived to welcome us.Shane had brought us some free range eggs from his own hens and they were delicious.
We stayed for just two nights and were uninterrupted throughout.
We walked two of the local trails which were excellent and visited Kilkenny castle, we also walked the dogs along the Kings river which flows behind the cottage, and saw shoals of young trout. Keep an eye out for the little barn owl at dusk, he flies around the barn searching for food.
Overall a fantastic break ....we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefullness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth_McG1...
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great retreat”
Reviewed 30 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

A group of girlfriends and I enjoyed a lovely long weekend in Molassey cottage. The house was welcoming and inviting- we didn't want to leave! A great place to chill out with board games, DVDs and wine but only a 20 minute taxi to Kilkenny city for a night out, a bit of shopping or a great meal. Breda couldn't have been more helpful. I would certainly be encouraged to visit Molassey cottage again and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonvdK
Mantgum, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The place for the south east of Ireland”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Just want to say that we had a perfect stay in the Molassy Cottage. The location is very nice and quiet. The furnishing is new en modern and cosy. And the location is perfect to see the south east of Ireland. We got good tips from the owner of the attractions in the area in the vicinity.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyshon G
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A charming and beautifully refurbished thatched cottage”
Reviewed 13 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Set in the tranquility of the Irish countryside, Molassy cottage lies at the end of a charming lane shared by only one other house along the way. This delightful accommodation is ideal for couples or those with small families; there is a large lawn at the back and an enclosed yard at the front. The interior retains many of its historic features yet provides contemporary furnishings, amenities and wood burners. There is a HD television and DVD player. We had 3G internet access on our iphones. The cottage is personally maintained by our host, Breda, who also met us on arrival and was always available if we had any queries. A key attribute in this accommodation is attention to detail. It is an excellent vantage point for exploring Kilkenny city and the county.

We spent a splendid 10 days here with our 2 sons aged 6 and 8 years. They stayed in a spaciously created bedroom in the loft where there are 2 single beds. There is a very comfortable double sofa bed in the lounge. In keeping with a traditional cottage, the downstairs bedroom is small and so the only caveat is that the double bed would be considered small by some couples. We are keen to stay in Molassy cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A quiet retreat with good facilities and easy access to Kilkenny.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula006
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A cottage that you MUST visit to experience its magic”
Reviewed 2 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Whether you are a family with a pet, a romantic couple, a budding author or just need peace and quiet away from the hussle and bussle of life, this cottage is for you. Situated in a cul de sac, you will instantly feel that you, your children, your pet and your personal belongs will feel safe and secure during your stay. On those sunny days you can enjoy dining outside in a sun trap or playing in the huge field where the grass is cut. Or if the weather is cold and wet, why not light one of the 2 stoves and cosy in to a choice of lots of dvd's provided. Breda has gone far outside the relms of making your stay comfy from the milk, bread,butter, tarts, fresh farm eggs to blocks, kippens, first aid kits, cooking oil, hand wash, towels, games, jigsaws, high chairs, all safety precausions for that crawling child. In the house you will also find lists of offical walks to enjoy. We did the Tullahought walk which had spectacular views and both children and dog enjoyed. We brought our bikes and even had a clean shed across from the house to store them in for our stay. Callan village is only 5mins drive where you can find a supervalu,playground, friendly pubs, chipper, chineese and even a chemist. This house may be a 3* but the cleanliness is 5*. And from next year we were told that she would even be able to provide a babysitting service. A TOP CLASS STAY.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: The privacy of the cottage and its safety for children and animals.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$122
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing