We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3 105)
Filter reviews
3 105 results
Traveller rating
1 717
864
332
120
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 717
864
332
120
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prom restaurant sea view great hotel leisure centre galway bay bar food wedding party wedding reception salt hill would highly recommend this hotel both nights bus stop lovely room hotel bar family room top class food was lovely
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 3 105 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We stayed here Friday and Saturday night on an extremely busy weekend as there were weddings both days coupled with a heatwave. From check in to check out the staff were above and beyond helpful, we had a fabulous room overlooking the Bay. Breakfast was very good and there was entertainment on both evenings. We would not hesitate to book avain, with especial thanks to Reception for their help!

Room Tip: Sea views worth the extra
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kells123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

the hotel is very nice - no complaints about the room, service, etc. beds very comfortable. family room had two queen sized beds. however, we did not love the location. we expected more of the Salthill area, but the promenade/boardwalk was not what we envisioned. we were there in mid-June, but it was very windy, chilly, and foggy the entire four days of our visit. (the rest of Galway was more mild) we have kids, so the amusement park next door was appealing, but it was dead due to the weather and closed most of the time in the evening. it's a bit of a walk to get to a selection of restaurants (and half the walk is with wind in your face). the kids wanted pool time but they aren't allowed in after 7 pm. also - swim caps required. if we could do it over we'd probably look at something more convenient to the action in the Latin Quarter.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

When visiting Salthill recently , we decided to have lunch at the Salthill Hotel, we waited for some time before eventually asking for a menu, our order was taken by a lovely young man who made a couple of suggestions about was most popular on the day. We opted for Toasted Sandwiches and a large pot of Tea. The food was poor and one could say did spend too long being toasted. !!! The huge disappointment for me the the Jug of milk,, the jug was filthy with stale milk all around the inside and the spout. If they are so laxed with cleanliness what about what we couldnt see. So disgusting.

Room Tip: Only had lunch here and it was definitely over-priced.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Cathia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We stayed there for 2 nights in April, The hotel overall is okay, our room was fine, but nothing to right home about, bathroom was kind of small. Hotel is located right across from the water, which was nice, not convenient to many of the stores, bars or shops, you do have to either drive or take a bus/cab to get to certain locations. To me it looked like the hotel was getting tired and needed a facelift. Just was okay.

Room Tip: Ask for room with water view.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank chercharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We recently stayed at this hotel and the rooms were large, clean and a great view from a water view room. The bar area is tremendous with good food with good service. We ate one night in the restaurant which we were not pleased with so we ate at the bar area the next night for a good meal. Hotel is on the outskirts of town and less than 5 minute drive to the city center with no traffic, otherwise it could take 25 minutes. We took a cab both ways, much easier. Free and ample parking at the hotel.

Room Tip: Best view is a water view room
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jjcoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews