We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location for a great trip to Galway”
other travellers have booked this property
Roof top terrace of penthouse apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Roof top terrace of penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment Twin bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
118 reviews
Roof top terrace of penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Twin bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Twin bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Penthouse apartment
Standard Apartment
Penthouse apartment living room
Penthouse apartment living room
Two Bedroom Standard Apartment Master Bedroom
Two Bedroom Standard Living Room
Kitchen
Two Bedroom Standard Apartment Master Bedroom
Standard Apatment Living Room
Two Bedroom Standard Apartment Twin Bedroom
Standard Apartment Sea Facing Balcony
Standard Apartment Sea Facing Balcony
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Twin bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Front of the house
Salthill Beach
Front of the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Galway, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 118 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Norwegian first
Polish first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Kathleen9...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location for a great trip to Galway”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely property situated on Upper Salthill road about a 10 minute taxi ride from Galway city. The property is actually part of a renovation of the Waterfront hotel. The room I booked had two generous sized bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen and a living area. Also, the balcony offered absolutely stunning views of Galway bay.
We arrived in Galway at 7.30pm and made our way to the secure entry door, I telephoned the number supplied and was given the code for the door. As there were no staff on the premises at that time, the keys to my room were in a key safe box which was opened under instruction over the phone. I had paid a 15% deposit and had received instructions to contact Malachy (the caretaker) the following afternoon to pay the balance. I found this quite relaxed and I did appreciate the fact that we were not rushed into anything as we were quite weary from our journey. The owner made it very easy for us.

There are a few shops, bars and restaurants in Salthill. Everything you need is on the doorstep. Almost next door to the building is a lovely restaurant called Lohan's. Although we only did have breakfast here the staff were really friendly and the food was good. At dinner time, you can buy wine from the off licence next door and take it in to the restaurant to have with your meal.

We walked into Galway and spent a lovely day walking around the city. The cathedral is a must see and the museum was great. There are plenty of shops and Quay street is a must for bars and restaurants. It was difficult to pick, but my favourite bar of the trip was Taaffes on Shop street. Great live music and a friendly laid back atmosphere. Pretty much Galway in a nutshell!
We also took a lovely walk along the promenade all the way to Knocknacarra. With views across the bay to the Clare mountains, the scenery was simply stunning.

If you are looking for accommodation at a reasonable price this is the place for you. Galway is a very friendly place and if you ever get bored of the many (many!) pubs, then there are plenty of activities to fill your days. We didn't quite get round to visiting all of the pubs so I'll be going back soon.

Go raibh maith agat Gaillimhe, bhí sé spraoi!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views over Galway bay.
Liked least: To be honest, there were no down sides.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isi22
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I hoped this apartment would be as good as it looked online - and it was! Location is perfect with view over Galway Bay and even a little balcony where we could enjoy the September sunshine. Great parking facilities and a lovely welcome from Johanna. A lovely 30 minute walk into Galway City or a bus from the front door. Apartment is well equipped and I would definately stay here again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Galway Bay Sea View Apartments. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good accommodation, but.....”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We enjoyed our stay in the spacious apartment which had a brilliant view across the bay to the Burren. The booking process and welcome by the caretaker was excellent, as was the prompt service in replacing a faulty toaster. I would have rated the accommodation as excellent, but the apartment had a spartan feel about it. The sitting room didn't have any curtains, and the kitchen was lacking in utensils. We had a microwave, but there were were no plastic utensils to use for cooking. Although this was a bit of a spoiler, I would still recommend the accommodation and its position - since it is ideally positioned for visiting the surrounding area both north and south of the bay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness of the apartment and its view
Liked least: Lack of kitchen utensils
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyHur...
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Penthouse on The Prom! Spectacular Galway Bay Views.”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Over the years I have stayed in many self catering apartments before and visited the West of Ireland annually for decades. The 3 bedroom 3 bathroom Penthouse apartment at Galway Bay Sea View apartments is definitely one of my top rated, and I would say that I have quite high standards especially with cleanliness even checking under sink taps and in shower trays...all clean here.
We had a great experience from start to finish. The booking process was perfect even though I changed travel dates and changed from a 2 bed to a 3 bed there was no problem. Great communication from Joanna. We arrived early and it was just a quick phone call to the caretaker Malachy who was there in a minute to welcome us with keys and gave us all the info we would need on the apartment as well as great recommendations for local attractions and restaurants. Most self catering accommodations just arrange keys for collection so we were very happy with this great friendly welcome.
The views from the apartment are spectacular around the whole of Galway Bay and across to the Clare mountains, absolutely breathtaking and uninterrupted, this alone would make the apartments stand out from the others.
It was lovely to find that everything was perfectly presented in all bedrooms , the lounge and the kitchen. Everything was spotless and clean. Bathrooms were well stocked with crisp white towels, plenty of toilet rolls, little complimentary Lux soaps which I love, and small shower gels which is not usually expected or provided in Self catering accommodation but was welcome as I had forgotten my shower gel.
The WiFi was great and I had no problem connecting my iPad, iphones and laptop to this with great reception. Lovely 32 inch LCD Tv in the lounge with HDMI connections if needed. Showers were perfectly hot and powerful enough for us and lovely clean fresh neutral tiles everywhere. Everything worked as it should. Storage heaters were great for keeping warm when needed. Great little Dimplex heaters in the bathrooms above the doors so could put them on after a shower. Malachy explained the easy to use Water heat boost button was available if needed more hot water though we only used this a couple of times over the week when we did a lot of washing and a few baths.
Kitchen was clean and well equipped with cooker, pans, dish washer, toaster, kettle, microwave, fridge, white dinner set, so everything to make it home from home and perfect for family holidays. We had lovely breakfasts , lunches and dinners on our gorgeous terrace overlooking the sea, I even brought my battery operated candle to put on the table out there so it was just lovely, better than any restaurant views.
The parking was great and always got a space there, with lights that come on automatically as you drive under. Good to have an elevator lift to all floors as we were on the 4th floor. Nice leather seating areas by lifts and in lobby, with a selection of books there.
Bedrooms had lovely easy to use child safe blinds on all the windows. Bedrooms had plenty of drawers and wardrobe space. Fresh white bed linen and plump pillows and very comfortable King Size beds in all bedrooms. The lounge had lovely french opening doors to the terrace which was large enough for our children to play on happily. Nice leather sofa and 2 comfy chairs for relaxing in. Big dining table in lounge and also 2 table and chair sets on terrace.
Great location with so much to do on your door step. Bus stop outside door for Galway though we took a little Tour on the Galway Tourist Train that goes from Salthill to Galway taking in all the sights, we really enjoyed this. We also visited the Salthill Galway Atlantaquarium a few minutes walk away. In the other direction a few minutes walk away is the Perks Fun Fair ( summer season) we all enjoyed this, you can get a wristband for 2-5pm or 6-9pm to give unlimited rides. Then next door for rainy days there is the indoor leisure centre and swimming pool with a great water slide, and a pirate ship for the kids. They have a sauna and steam room and even a Super session for the kids in the day with pedalo mini boats in the pool and a huge inflatable assault course in the pool....kids loved it here and great value at

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, Location, Beach front, Amazing Views, Friendly staff, Penthouse and Terrace brilliant.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: The smell
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;