We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$155
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$212
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Flannery's Hotel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$150
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westwood House Hotel(Dangan)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$162
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Maldron Hotel Galway(Oranmore)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oranmore Lodge Hotel(Oranmore)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snoozles Hostel(Galway)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
87
50
15
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
50
15
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrehost marialady runningpaddywagon toursgreat adviceb bsirish breakfastlaundry serviceonly stayed one nightmin walkroom was very clean and comfortablewithin walking distancesmall roomthird floorcoach stationliving roomcooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Abbey Lodge is a decent guesthouse worth a 3 star review. Nothing to complain about really but nothing outstanding either. Clean and tidy. Continental breakfast was ok. Hosts were helpful and friendly. It's only 10 minutes or so walk into the city.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Roy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donal G, Owner at Abbey Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Conveniently located within walking distance of the Galway town centre. Clean room and comfortable bed. Parking is available off the road (which is an issue with a number of B&B's). Management very helpful allowing us to print out airline boarding passes. Help-yourself continental breakfast was just right for our needs. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room to the rear of the building so would be quieter than rooms which front onto the busy road.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alanjl2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donal G, Owner at Abbey Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Alan, thanks a million for staying with us and for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Booked a room for two nights. Room was basic, but clean and nice. Rate was not much, so basic was in line with the rate for the room. Had an emergency back home, so we had to leave after the first night. Management refunded us for the second night, even though it was short notice and they weren't required to do so per their cancellation policy. Customer service was great. If we find ourselves in Galway again, we would definitely stay again. Thanks!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donal G, Owner at Abbey Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Hi Andy, thanks a million for your kind words. Welcome back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

upon finding out that my booked room in St Judes was right beside the reception area I stated to Sean that I thought I wouldn't be able to sleep there (me being older and the clientele that I saw there was very young). I then said that I was going to the Dogs and he told me that he had a house right by the Dogs and did I want to change. I said yes and it was great. Lovely welcome by a young professional couple. Room was right at the top of the house. So modern, bright, fresh, immaculate. Lovely big en suite. I recommended this guest house B&B to all my coworkers.

Room Tip: I was at the top of the house D was the number/letter. C was a tad loud in their comings and goings but just a lovely room
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t3kmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donal G, Owner at Abbey Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thanks a million for your kind words. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

It was a great place. Simple to book and even trying to communicate was easier than expected. Close proximity to the town centre (5-10mins). Nice and clean room and had everything you needed. Shame I couldn’t stay for longer. Will be visiting again when in Galway.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank MichaelBurridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donal G, Owner at Abbey Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thanks a million for your kind words. We're delighted you enjoyed your time at Abbey Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews