We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Breakfast ”
Review of Balfes

Balfes
Ranked #307 of 2 804 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Fusing the casual elegance of a Parisian brasserie with the dynamism of a New York eatery, Balfes is a chic bar and brasserie located on Balfe Street just steps from Grafton Street in the heart of Dublin city centre. Balfes features a heated outdoor terrace, zinc covered bar and open kitchen where steak, prawns and whole fish are roasted on the charcoal grill. The menu offers healthy breakfasts, leisurely lunches, sharing plates and dinner using the best of Irish seafood and quality meat. Fresh local produce goes into creating Balfe's salads, weekend brunches, juices and cocktails.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had lovely breakfasts here 3 days in a row ( we were guests at the Westbury ) diner one night which was poor so 5* breakfast & 2/3* dinner

Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey W, Manager at Balfes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Charlie B,

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We aim to improve our service through customer feedback so thank you again.

Many thanks

Audrey W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Been a regular at Balfes restaurant in the Westbury Hotel for some time now, these guys deserve a round of applause.
Food is fantastic and service spot on, the menu offers great choice, particularly good for the health conscious.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sdsbuildingservices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey W, Manager at Balfes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi sdsbuildingservices,

Thank you for writing such a positive review. We are delighted you like what we do in Balfes. The new July menu will have more indulgent, healthy options for you to taste.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Many thanks

Audrey W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ate here last week and enjoyed their brunch (eggs on sourdough) however their smashed avocado tasted of pure lime and the service was slow. I wanted to give it another try though...

This week however showed up in gym gear having ran a 5k race for charity. We were told that they were fully booked until 3pm (although there were free tables). I called the restaurant afterwards and was told that they did not take reservations on the day and it was walk ins only on a Sunday and that there would be no issue getting a table if we came only 30min after we had already been (and had been refused due to being “fully booked”!)

My clothes were different but my ability to pay for my food had not changed. Outraged that service was refused based on appearance!

Thank Sile_kay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey W, Manager at Balfes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Sile_Kay9,

Sorry we could not accommodate your booking. We had a very busy weekend due to it being Father's Day and a lot of the tables during the day were reserved. We did take in walk-in's but had to stop at our busy period. Although it might appear that we have empty tables but that is because they are set up and ready for the next booking. We greet all our customers coming through our doors without prejudice and try our very best to meet their needs.
We would like to welcome you back and please feel free to contact me directly to make your next booking.

Thank you for your review.

Many thanks

Audrey W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Very underwhelmed by this spot. Really poor service and mediocre food. Not quite sure what all the hype is about. Much better options for this price range in the city.

Thank DaveB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey W, Manager at Balfes, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Hi DaveB2,

Sorry you didn't enjoy Balfes on this occasion. We appreciate your feedback and always look to improve our service.

Many thanks

Audrey W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

We stopped downstairs while staying at the westbury and found this bar and restaurant to be a great place to hangout.

Mixologist really know their stuff and offer some great cocktails.

Nice wine selection and comfortable seats at bar or regular chairs.

Heated outdoor area for smoker.

Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey W, Manager at Balfes, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Hi Andrew S,

Thank you for stopping by for drinks at Balfes. Our guys behind the bar are highly skilled and can make pretty much anything you're looking for.

Hopefully see you again real soon.

Many thanks

Audrey W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balfes also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Balfes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing