We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food great service”
Review of Balfes

Balfes
Ranked #307 of 2 807 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Fusing the casual elegance of a Parisian brasserie with the dynamism of a New York eatery, Balfes is a chic bar and brasserie located on Balfe Street just steps from Grafton Street in the heart of Dublin city centre. Balfes features a heated outdoor terrace, zinc covered bar and open kitchen where steak, prawns and whole fish are roasted on the charcoal grill. The menu offers healthy breakfasts, leisurely lunches, sharing plates and dinner using the best of Irish seafood and quality meat. Fresh local produce goes into creating Balfe's salads, weekend brunches, juices and cocktails.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Enjoyed two meals here this week and had great food and good value for money breakfast is excellent a special mention about the staf who are super helpful and friendly especially canila who should get a five star rating ⭐️

Thank larhar499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey W, Manager at Balfes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Larhar499,

Glad you enjoyed both meals at Balfes and thank you for posting your review. Camila will be delighted with the mention, I will be sure to pass it on to her.

Many thanks

Audrey W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Saturday afternoon lunch for two. We ordered Fish & Chips as our main course which was absolutely delicious. The batter was gluten free and it made such a difference. Good service. Very clean and well laid out. Great buzz all age groups.
Would recommend with confidence.

1  Thank beckysharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey W, Manager at Balfes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi Beckysharper,

Thank you for the review. Glad you enjoyed your experience at Balfes. We have a lot of gluten free options on our menus so pop back in and try the oat pancakes or turkey burger. Looking forward to welcome you back.

Many thanks

Audrey W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Lovely staff and surroundings... I had a beef burger which was dry and pretty tasteless which was disappointing. My 3 stars are for the friendly staff!

1  Thank Melinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey W, Manager at Balfes, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hi Melinks,

Thank you for writing a review. I will pass on your positive words to our team and sorry you did not enjoy your main course. Hopefully we will see you again in Balfes.

Many thanks

Audrey W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

I was very excited to try Balfes for brunch, having tried about three times on a whim to get a table, but finding it too busy. I finally organised to go with a friend and booked in advance. I arrived five minutes early and was asked to wait at the bar. That would have been no problem were it not for the fact that there was literally nowhere free to stand except the service area of the bar where, of course, servers were constantly collecting drinks and dropping glasses. This resulted in me and another group having to constantly move around while waiting to be seated. It was very chaotic. The fact that there were so many people standing beside the people who were actually seated at the bar trying to eat their brunch in peace was clearly making those seated feel awkward. Eventually we were seated, ten minutes after the actual booking time. The service from that point was fine. The food was distinctly average and the side of fries tasted like they had been sitting under a hot lamp for far too long. In fairness, the brunch was inexpensive. Based on my experience and the average nature of the food, I will not be rushing back.

1  Thank 932NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey W, Manager at Balfes, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Hi 932NB,

Thank you for taking time to write a review and we appreciate the feedback from your experience. Our brunch service is extremely busy and we on occasion have short delays on our tables. I am sorry you didn't throughly enjoy all aspect of Balfes and would like to see you come back again.

Many thanks

Audrey W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We had a amazing time today. Really good food and drinks. Waitress Camila was so kind and lovely w/ us.

Thank Rudson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey W, Manager at Balfes, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Hi Rudson,

Thank you for writing a review. We are delighted you had such a pleasant afternoon with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Balfes.

Many thanks

Audrey W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balfes also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Balfes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing