We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do!”

Irish Whiskey Museum
Ranked #14 of 588 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome to the Irish Whiskey Museum, the first Irish whiskey museum in the world! The museum depicts the origins of Irish whiskey, its rise to glory, the dramatic fall, and of course, current revival of new Irish whiskeys. With an exclusive collection of Irish whiskey memorabilia dating back to the 1800s, blended with a modern twist, this is one memory you are sure to enjoy! Opening Hours: 10:00 am - 19:00 pm First Tour: 10:30 am Last Tour: 19:00 pm. Whiskey and Brunch Experience at 10am on Friday to Sunday.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Went on a tour today with Joni and it was a blast. She had such wonderful knowledge and her passion was really evident in how she spoke and her eagerness to answer all questions. The tasting was superb and I highly suggest the Premium tasting. Getting to taste multiple types of irish Whiskey has really given me a better handle on what I already liked and what I want to try more of!

1  Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6 252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"premium tour"
in 267 reviews
"souvenir glass"
in 110 reviews
"blending experience"
in 98 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 362 reviews
"great tour"
in 266 reviews
"jameson tour"
in 46 reviews
"tasting session"
in 44 reviews
"trinity college"
in 157 reviews
"great visit"
in 40 reviews
"visiting dublin"
in 43 reviews
"fionn"
in 117 reviews
"history"
in 1 266 reviews
"ireland"
in 465 reviews
"distilleries"
in 78 reviews
"owen"
in 47 reviews
"scotch"
in 59 reviews
"knowledge"
in 151 reviews
Filter

620 - 624 of 6 251 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018

If you want to know about the history of Irish Whiskey this is the place to go. Very informative and amusing talk by Caelainn.

1  Thank Wccckfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrishWhiskeyMuseum, Guest Relations Manager at Irish Whiskey Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you for the review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Mark provided a very humorous tour of the history of whiskey. We enjoyed both the commentary and the whiskey. I will now be looking for Powers Gold Label at home. :)

Thank Ncv4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrishWhiskeyMuseum, Guest Relations Manager at Irish Whiskey Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you for leaving a review, Mark is an excellent guide and we are glad that you enjoyed his tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Was staying in Trinity on Saturday 23rd June with some time to kill before heading for the Aviva, so had checked out what was nearby to do. As a Scot who is half Irish, worked in Midleton and who drinks whisk(e)y this tour really appealed to me.

Our tour guide was Eoin, and he was exceptionally good. He was charming, full of the craic with a good sense of humour and answered all questions honestly and thoughtfully. Nothing was too much trouble for him, and he made it all look so easy. Having worked in tourism/hospitality/customer service for (too many!) years myself, I know that’s quite a feat to pull off, so well done Eoin.

The tour itself is really well structured, with the guide leading you through a few different settings (I loved the shebeen, and I could have stayed in the Victorian Bar all day!) and giving a talk about a different aspect of the history of whiskey at each setting. None of the talks seemed like a recital, Eoin responded to questions and interactions all the time and as a result our tour seemed pretty bespoke and customised.

The tasting at the end was also fantastic. Eoin is clearly highly knowledgeable, but also has a passion and enthusiasm that really shone through. I really enjoyed the tasting, learning a lot about how to taste the whisky and why. With the discount for the early-bird, the extra whisky and the souvenir glass made the extra couple of Euro well worth it. The one criticism I had of the whole experience was that I would have loved to be able to add the brunch onto my booking and wasn’t able to work out a way to do that. It would be really great if you could.

Finally, a word of warning for any Scots taking this tour. Scotch whisky is the big but friendly rival to Irish whiskey, and as such Scotch and indeed Scotland and the Scots in general are considered a fair target for some gentle ribbing. All good fun and added to the whole experience, but make sure you have your banter polished up so as not to let the side down!!

Highly recommended.

2  Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrishWhiskeyMuseum, Guest Relations Manager at Irish Whiskey Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review, Eion is an excellent guide and we will be sure to let him know that you had a good time on his tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Joni was the best tour guide I have ever had! She was passionate with sharing her knowledge about whiskeys and had wonderful stories about its history. I was there June 26th with my mom, sister, 2 daughters and their friend and we all thought she made the tour of the museum fabulous!

Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrishWhiskeyMuseum, Guest Relations Manager at Irish Whiskey Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you for the kind review, Joni is a brilliant guide and we will be sure to tell her that you enjoyed her tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Irish Whiskey Museum also viewed

 

Been to Irish Whiskey Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing