We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.”

The Porterhouse Temple Bar
Ranked #251 of 2 885 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
Reviewed 28 June 2018

This pub doesn't just have awesome beer, it has great food as well. The music is always good ol'rock'n'roll and the Celebration Stout is definitely one of the best beers I've ever had. Also the staff knows how to pour a pint perfectly and they're mostly extremely friendly. Congrats! (This is valid for all Porterhouses I've been to: Central and Bray included).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gabrielpaiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willie B, Manager at The Porterhouse Temple Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Hi Gabriel! Thank you so much for leaving such a fantastic review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our food and were looked after by our staff. The Celebration Stout is a proper stout alright and goes down well listening to rock’n’roll! Thank you for such positive feedback, it’s greatly appreciated. Hope to see you back soon. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 48 of 2 085 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018

This used to be a great bar, now it’s a below average restaurant. If you want a drink, DO NOT go here, as most of the seating is now reserved for dining.

Thank jorgebergoglio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willie B, Manager at The Porterhouse Temple Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Hi Jorge. Thanks for your feedback. Some of our seating upstairs is reserved for dining in the evening, as is the norm with most bars who offer food, but there is plenty of seating where you can have drinks, enjoy the atmosphere and live music. Once food service is finished at 9.30, all tables are open for customers to sit where they please. Hopefully you will be back again. All the best and thanks for your custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Had a lovely little drink in here about 12 of us. Watched England thrash Panama. Great beers on offer even if a tad too strong ! The baby Guinness shots were flowing tho ! Very friendly and helpful bar staff. Showed me their ales to choose from. I didn't eat but rest of our gang seemed to enjoy it all. Welcomed our little grandson in the place as well. Well worth a visit to this corner pub.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willie B, Manager at The Porterhouse Temple Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Hi David! Thank you so much for the fantastic review. Great to hear you were looked after by our staff and enjoyed our beer selection. See you back soon. Many thanks and all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Porterhouse was one of the bars I had on a list to try with my wife on our weekend break. Absolutely loved the Nitro Red Ale my favourite far superior than the mass brewed equivalent. Live music and not as bonkers as the bars down the road. Great excuse to come back.

Thank Sherpa719725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willie B, Manager at The Porterhouse Temple Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Hi there! Thanks for leaving such a fantastic review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here and loved our Nitro Red. Hope to see you back soon to try a few more! All the best and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

The atmosphere of this pub seems super authentic however the servers did not acknowledge us. We had to go to the bar to order and bring our drinks to the table ourselves.

Good enough if you're in the area but wouldn't recommend.

Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willie B, Manager at The Porterhouse Temple Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Hi Kylie. Thanks for taking the time to review us. We take all comments on board. Hopefully we will see you back here again. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Porterhouse Temple Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Porterhouse Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing