We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location and ammenities can't be beat”
other travellers have booked this property
Front Room, with 2 double sofa beds
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Room, with 2 double sofa beds
Front of House, with parking for 4 vehicles
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Front Room, with 2 double sofa beds
Front of House, with parking for 4 vehicles
Front of House
Hallway
Tv Room
Kitchen
Dining Room by day
Dining Room by Night
Outdoor Entertaining Area with BBQ
Bedroom 1 Downstairs, with 2 single beds
Bedroom 1 Downstairs, with 2 single beds
Bathroom Downstairs with shower
Bedroom 2 Upstairs, with 2 single beds
Bedroom 3 Upstairs, with 1 double bed
Bedroom 4 Upstairs, with 1 double bed
Bedroom 5 Upstairs, with 1 single bed
Bathroom Upstairs with bath and shower
Bathroom Upstairs with bath and shower
Garden by Day
Garden by Night
Garden by Night
Garden by Night
Front of House
National Botanical Gardens
Glasnevin Cemetery
Glasnevin Cemetery Museum
Andersons, award-winning food hall and cafe
McMahons, charming local cafe
Gravediggers Traditional Tavern
The Washerwoman, local restaurant
The Washerwoman, local restaurant
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Dublin, County Dublin

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Suzie D
1 review
“Location and ammenities can't be beat”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We just returned from a delightful week in Dublin. Our extended family group ranged from 2 to 89 and all had a good time. I must say that a few of the special features of the home make it stand out. The sun room/dining room is just perfect! Our family likes to eat together and play games/cards while on vacation and most often we rent a place based on this criteria above all else. The kitchen is truly unique. If I were to remodel a cottage I would take my ideas from this great layout. Everything we needed was available, AND 2 tea kettles! We used the grill and outdoor space every day. While we were hoping to take advantage of a forthcoming attic space/bedroom, Simon made everything work with roll-a-ways - Thanks! I am sure when this addition is finalized it will be wonderful. The location of this home is perfect. walk left to minutes to get to the 9.11.13.14 bus to downtown Dublin, or walk right to get to the 83 bus going into Dublin as well. By a Leap Card and leave your car at home. Also, it is a quick 10-15 ride to the airport!

A few details- Eat at the Washerwoman (just around the corner) as much as possible!! This restaurant and her sister restaurant The Woolen Mills are absolutely wonderful!!!! We also ordered from Independent Pizza as we had a big group to feed when we first arrived.

Payment, check-in and out and security refund processes were all smooth with no issues. Simon's staff that greeted us were very nice. Everything was as advertised. If I ever decide to geo back to Dublin I will definitely try to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is just gorgeous! Location perfect
Liked least: The rain! HA
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Hi Suzie,
Thank you for a wonderful and comprehensive review. I think you covered everything! I agree that for a big family group like yours , our Glasnevin rental works very well. I will pass on your thanks to our team who work very hard to make your stay first class"
Hope to see you again in Dublin in the future.
Regards, Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanmk
New Jersey
1 review
“Gorgeous house in Dublin with great attention to detail, perfect for our family trip!”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our party of 10 had a wonderful time in this beautiful house! Away from the congestion of the very heart of Dublin, but a short (15-20 min) bus/taxi ride from all the action. It is situated in a nice neighborhood with botanic gardens, small shops, and great restaurants and pubs within walking distance (highly recommend the Washerwoman - excellent farm to table spot a five minute walk from the house).
We were greeted by Geraldine on our arrival who was so gracious, got us all settled, quick tour, some yummy scones! We had arranged through the owner to have some basics delivered before our arrival from a local supermarket, and the owner had already stocked the house with some of these (tea/coffee/milk/biscuits). And was great to have such a short trip from the airport.
The house was warm on a brisk morning and is so bright and full of light. Best heating system I've ever experienced in Ireland! The dining room is all glass and is just lovely any time of the day and has radiant heated floors. The pictures do not do it justice. Décor is traditional with a modern twist with a lot of very cool touches. House was very comfortable with more than enough space and well stocked with all the essentials. We were travelling with an infant and two toddlers and the house was kid friendly (cot, highchair, baby monitor, board games, and toys were provided!) So all were entertained. We had a bit too much rain to fully take advantage of the garden but we did have one great barbecue dinner using the outdoor grill and it was a serene space to look out at. And there was space for the kiddies to run around a bit outside. Geraldine was available for any questions we had, recommendations, etc. throughout our stay.
John met us for check out and was available to help with anything we needed, make taxi arrangements, etc. Simon had also offered to book stuff before our arrival. So plenty of help just an email or text away!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the Decor, heating, comfort level
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Hi Siobhan,
Thanks for taking the time to paint such a wonderful picture of our Glasnevin property.

It sounds that you all had a wonderful time , kids and all!

I am delighted that Geraldine and the team made is special for you.

We are on hand 24/7 to make your experience the best it can be.

Hope to see you guys on a return visit.

Regards, Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C7537YTti...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Stunning House”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We rented this house for us and our wedding party when we got married this May. What an absolutely amazing house! The design is exceptional with so much open space and light throughout.

Simon and his team were excellent throughout the whole process with great communication from start to finish.

We would absolutely recommend this house to anyone and wish it was ours! If we could give it 6 stars we could.

Tim & Sue Kennedy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Design, Space
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2016
To The New Mr & Mrs Kennedy,

I am delighted that the Wedding party was such a success.And 6 stars, thank for the wonderful review, the team will be pleased.

The Glasnevin rental has that spacious feel alright and is suitable for lots of different groups of guests.

I had my engagement party their myself!

Regards, Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
48Debra
Anaheim, California
1 review
“Fabulous home beyond our Expectations with wonderful caretakers ready to help us if needed.”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We are a group of 8 friends that shared the property for 11 days. It is beautiful and is exactly as described. All of us were impressed from the moment we entered the home. My husband & I chose the master bedroom & it was comfortable & quiet. There is a spacious kitchen & big, bright dining room with access to patio. Each of us had freedom to do as we pleased & not get in anyone's way. There is a bathroom on each floor & there wasn't any problem in sharing even though there were 8 of us. I loved the large bath tub. Most of the group loved the downstairs shower & towel warmer. The 25-35 yr olds loved the red couch in the den for movies. There's also a quiet sitting room to read or play games. I highly recommend this rental unit & the owner as the very best. Glasnevin is close to the Gardens & Cemetary & has easy bus access. We used taxis but did try the bus once. It's about the same cost per person for taxi or bus. Bring enough clothes as laundry loads are small & take time to dry. It's not like the states with our big washing machines. We had a great time & hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of space & felt very comfortable
Liked least: For me only--It would be nice to have a double bed downstairs. Others are fine with climbing stairs.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Hi Debra,
What a lovely review, thank you.
Glasnevin is a great spot and I'm glad that all your guests had plenty of space and enjoyed themselves.
As you say we have not moved to the big washing machines like in the States, but it won't be long with our big Irish families.

Look forward to seeing you all again to stay with Near City Rentals.

Regards, simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda D
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Stayed at this property in a party of 12 for my daughters hen weekend, had a marvellous time a perfect home from home with everything you could want or need for a self catering stay. Set in a quite residential road approx 10 minute taxi ride from Dublin city centre John the property manager, an absolute delight would not hesitate to return if in a large party and would highly recommend

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2016
Hello there Linda,
Great news! John is most helpful, I would agree. We want our guests to feel at home and have a superb experience at our property and of their time in Dublin. I am glad we succeeded.
Good luck with the wedding.
Regards,

Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing