We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared for a crowd”

The Book of Kells and the Old Library Exhibition
Ranked #4 of 521 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Book of Kells is a world famous illuminated manuscript written in Latin of the Gospels from the Bible. It was painstakingly hand-written and illustrated by monks around 800 A.D.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We didn't buy tickets ahead of time so had to wait about 5 minutes in a line to get in. While the exhibit is interesting, it was too crowded to actually be able to read everything and soak it in. For me, the highlight was the long room, or old library, AKA book lovers' paradise! Since the books of course are roped off, it's just a matter of walking into the room and gazing at books galore.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank JD11125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18 788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"long room"
in 1 732 reviews
"trinity college"
in 2 150 reviews
"glass case"
in 142 reviews
"harry potter"
in 353 reviews
"on display"
in 636 reviews
"long hall"
in 318 reviews
"awe inspiring"
in 208 reviews
"gift shop"
in 418 reviews
"take your time"
in 147 reviews
"guided tour"
in 236 reviews
"pages"
in 1 233 reviews
"busts"
in 333 reviews
"gospels"
in 318 reviews
"history"
in 3 007 reviews
"volumes"
in 232 reviews
"libraries"
in 268 reviews
"students"
in 858 reviews
Filter

1 476 - 1 480 of 18 793 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Wow, a lot to see. Very interesting. The highlight for me though is the library, wow what a sight. Highly recommend Trinity when in Dublin

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank joolzd2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

My family and I all thought this was fine, but not the "must-see" that the guidebooks tout. We didn't really learn more than what we had read online prior, and seeing the display was chaotic as there was no viewing line so people just pushed around the display case. A woman trying to tell people to keep moving basically gave up and just stood on far side of room. By chance we wandered to the nearby Chester Beatty Library (showcases THE letters of St Paul as well as many other original religious documents from various religions) which was spectacularly interesting and educational, very well organized, and had no crowd at all.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank TallJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Each of the three activities brought value to the overall experience. I do advise an early arrival to avoid the large crowds. Children 8 and over will be able to gain from the experience. The books are amazing to view.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank tcarrboes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Just learning the history behind the Book of Kells and seeing the Old Library is amazing in itself. Do yourself a favor and make sure you get a skip the line guided tour to get the full effect of your visit and the knowledge of the guide, Brian was great! It’s worth the money to have a guide, you’ll learn so much more about the details, rather then just walking aimlessly around.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Darrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Book of Kells and the Old Library Exhibition also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Book of Kells and the Old Library Exhibition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing