We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (931)
Filter reviews
931 results
Traveller rating
449
379
75
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
379
75
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trafalgar tour baggot street grand canal lovely hotel city centre executive room taxi rank within walking distance quiet area minute walk breakfast buffet business trip air conditioning stayed here for one night pubs and restaurants nice room aviva stadium
Filter
Updating list...
589 - 594 of 931 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We had a three night stay at the Mespil. Our room was lovely and the staff were very helpful, friendly and efficient. The food was great everything cooked to perfection. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will be going back.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conniemcnamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mespil_Management, Guest Relations Assistant at Mespil Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your three night stay with us and you were happy with your room. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our ‘helpful, friendly and efficient’ staff. Your comments will be passed on to everyone. Glad to hear you enjoyed your meal , your feedback will most certainly be passed on to our Head Chef. Great to hear you would recommend us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Gerard Kelly
Mespil Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Booked thru Hoteling who went in to liquidation so arrived having paid E1000 for 8 nights to find booking cancelled and that I had just lost my money.Had to pay a second time although was given a slight discount. Telephone in room broken and required servicing. Hand basin would not properly drain and ignored request to fix. Woken early as they are replacing all the paving and planter boxes and cutting concrete and concrete mixers are hardly conducive to a decent sleep. Changed hotels for the following 7 nights.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sartendb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmcinerney2017, Guest Relations Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin.

I am sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience. Unfortunately when booking via 3rd Party Agents who go into liquidation, we have very little control.

We did indeed have a new brick pavement laid down during your stay, and I can only apologise for the noise that you must have experienced. This work was however unavoidable - but I completely understand your frustration.

Again I must apologise that we did not meet your needs this time, and I hope you enjoyed your time in Ireland nonetheless.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Keith Kelly
Guest Relations Assistant
Mespil Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed in the Mespil for two nights at the end of October for the Dublin City Marathon. The hotel offers what you would expect for a four star hotel. Friendly obliging staff. Great location with the canal across the street. Plenty of cafe's and restaurants around. The hotel bar menu looked appealing but the bar itself lacks atmosphere...it's not quite like a bar or a restaurant. We had a lovely quiet room at the back, spacious king room , with a great bathroom rain shower and bath. There is very limited parking but we found street parking easily. Would stay again.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RobMcGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mespil_Management, Guest Relations Assistant at Mespil Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your two night stay with us over the marathon weekend at the end of October. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our ‘friendly obliging staff’. Nice to read you found the location of the hotel ‘great’ – plenty of eateries close by. We hope you enjoyed the Marathon event and perhaps we might see you for 29th October 2017!. We most certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Gerard Kelly
Mespil Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Easy 20 min walk to city centre and also to the bord gais theatre in about 15 mins of a walk. Hotel has its own carpark which is free which is a huge plus for somewhere so close to the city centre. Rooms are comfy and clean in an all round good hotel at a great location.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jonathan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mespil_Management, Guest Relations Assistant at Mespil Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and happy with the hotels location – 20 minute walk to St Stephens Green. It is great to hear you found the carpark a ‘huge plus’ and that everything in your room was in order. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Gerard Kelly
Mespil Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

This was a very nice hotel once I found it. We took the airport shuttle which there is a Mespil lodge near there!. I had a great experience and Bernadette was so helpful with all my questions. I want to give a shout out to her for going above and beyond in customer service. The breakfast was a little weird but I am a picky eater. I would stay here again

Date of stay: October 2016
Thank Brianna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mespil_Management, Guest Relations Assistant at Mespil Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin.

We are delighted to hear enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be ‘good value’. It is wonderful to hear Bernadette was ‘helpful’ and went ‘above and beyond’ in offering great customer service. Your kind comments will most certainly be passed on to Bernadette. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Gerard Kelly
Mespil Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews