We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Merchant House
Nearby Hotels
US$342
US$273
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$320
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$214
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$262
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sandymount Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$529
US$513
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dublin Skylon Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sheldon Park Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$290
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$256
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
151
56
18
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
56
18
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoscar wilde suitebram stokerjames joyceyeats suitestage doortemple barlow water pressuredouble windowsguest houseflights of stairsunderfloor heatingdvd playercomfortable bedstreet noisestayed nightsno liftbeautiful room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for st patricks day celebrations. Could not of asked for a better location. Parade passed the top of the street and temple bar pubs at the bottom. We had the oscar wilde suite that is at the very top of the building with quite a few narrow stairs to climb but well worth it. Spacious well equipped suite. Lovely comfy bed. Very good security to the property. Nearest car park only five minutes walk away but expect to pay usual inner city rates. We paid £53 from 2pm on a friday till 8am sunday. Anyone that wants a great location and is able to climb stairs this is the place for you. We were at the top so had to climb the most stairs but there are suites on lower floors so please dont be put off.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank aandjUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you indeed for your kind words and high rating. It was a pleasure to look after you both during our St Patrick's festivities .
Your housekeeper did mention that we offer car parking discounts at the Fleet Street car park, providing you show our invoice on collecting your vehicle. We feel you did not use that car park...................... however the rate you received is lower than Car Parks in major UK cities for the same time period. Please do avail of our 'Return' discount for our Guests staying at The Merchant House again...............

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed here and it is awesome.
The bar area is so authentic and has a great atmosphere.
They do great meals and at a reasonable price.
Staff is more than willing to help and very friendly.
Highly recommend.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you again for your kind words and encouragement. It was a pleasure to look after you both.
Do avail of your return 'Guest Discounts' towards your next stay at The Merchant House. Simply contact us by email..............
Thank you again !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Great pub, good food and fresh pints. Live music everyday of the week in the evening and on our few trips it Dublin it’s never too crowded but even if it is don’t let the first floor fool you there is more seating upstairs!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

On arrival, greeted by Natalie, who was very welcoming. The room we got was very nice and very spacious, the room faced a busy street, however u could bearly hear anything from the room, the bed was lovely and comfortable, had different options for pillows for hardness, which was good. Had a pleasant stay, and I highly recommend this place.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dodge2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words, it was a pleasure to look after you both.
Your high rating is much appreciated.
The Merchant House team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

The hotel is in a great location. We were able to check in early and had all four rooms in the hotel. We did not experience the same noise as others but I think that was due to the fact that it was right after NYE.

The rooms are a little bit dated (needs new carpet!) and although they say King Sized beds, they are queen. They are a very generous size. The shower was hot/cold in all rooms (low pressure but that did not bother anyone).

The woman who manages the building is very sweet and was available for a good portion of the day if we needed anything.

There is no elevator and the stairs are fairly small. We put my parents in the Bram Stoker Suite, which is only up one flight of stairs. The rest of the suites are one per floor so it was a bit of a hike to the top.

Room Tip: Bram Stoker, smaller of the rooms, has the least stairs to get to and is in the back of the hotel so the quietest.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike R, Manager at The Merchant House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Thank you again for your high rating and kind words. It was a pleasure to look after your party during your recent stay at The Merchant House.
All beds are 'King' size , European size not U.S size. Our Suites are spacious and most comfortable indeed. You are correct, there are several steps to the top floor and unfortunately as our building is listed as A1 , we are not permitted an elevator. That said, staff are always ready to offer a hand with heavy luggage. We hope your journey back home was comfortable and again, thank you for using our facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews