We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (900)
Filter reviews
900 results
Traveller rating
317
289
145
82
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
317
289
145
82
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews market house national holidays sister hotel public car park hen party coach tour caledonian travel town square third floor lovely town double bed hotel bar enjoyable stay course meal room was large reel inn food was lovely
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 900 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2017

We spent 2 nights at this hotel on a winter break and have only good reviews on it. The staff were exceptional very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble for them the food was excellent and the rooms were large cosy and warm . The bar was great with live entertainment which was brillant. The hotel is in the centre of Donegal town with plenty of bars and restaurants if you want to eat out. We would recommend this hotel just ask for a room away from the nightclub which is opened until the early hours of the morning if you are not into loud music. We will certainly be back loved this hotel

Room Tip: Away from nightclub
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine D, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear Shirley W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for choosing to stay with us. We really appreciate your kind comments and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future

Kind regards,
Niamh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

There on a National trip for 4 days. Great hotel, good food, very clean spacious room and good sized bathroom. Staff were very friendly and location is central. Only downside of our visit was the location of room . It was on the first floor right over the bus stop so was very noisy even through the night. I think the window needs replacing as it sounded as if there wasn't any glass in it. Couldn't be bothered to change rooms so own fault I got very little sleep. Avoid room 136 unless you are a heavy sleeper! Would go back but not in a front room.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on front especially first floor.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine D, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear Val S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your positive feedback regarding the staff, food and your room.
We are sorry to hear that you did not sleep well due to the noise. We are located in the heart of Donegal Town, so street noise is inevitable. However ,we would be more than happy to give you a quieter room if you decide to return to Donegal in the future, which we hope you do.

Kind regards,
Niamh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We were a party of 25 and only booked the day before as we were there for a family funeral. Excellent food and menu. I had fillet steak on a stone, others in the family had tuna on a stone, linguini and other food, we were not expecting the extra chips, mash and vegetables and the food was excellent. Most had starters which were also excellent. Can't comment on the sweets as we were all were too full.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ginette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine D, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear Ginette B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in relation to your recent meal at The Abbey Hotel and Market House Restaurant. We appreciate your positive feedback and are delighted to hear you enjoyed it.

kind regards,
Niamh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Lovely hotel with the best staff ever. Nice large room overlooking the square. Food was good everything well organised. Abbey guests can use the swimming pool next door. Great bar just round the corner with live music called the Reel Inn. Will most definetly return.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Collette1833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine D, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear Collette1833,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Abbey and for sharing your comments in relation to your recent visit. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Niamh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Stayed here with a friend for a pre-christmas treat.
Staff at check in were very friendly and helpful.
The room was clean, spacious and had a lovely view of the water.
Ate in the restaurant which was quality and enjoyed the entertainment in the bar that night.
Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcniffj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine D, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear mcniffj,

We really appreciate your kind comments and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Niamh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews