We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Abbey Hotel(Donegal Town)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$172
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Guesthouse(Donegal Town)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ard na Breatha(Donegal Town)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Donegal Manor(Donegal Town)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ceol Na Mara(Donegal Town)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bridges Bed and Breakfast(Donegal Town)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$344
US$314
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Harvey's Point(Donegal Town)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$318
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (821)
Filter reviews
821 results
Traveller rating
311
260
132
68
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
260
132
68
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe upper deckdonegal baycoach tripcaledonian travelthe hotel managerbit datedsister hotelswimming poolmiddle of townlovely hotelreception staffleisure centrecooked breakfastdining roomlovely roomfood was lovelyfirst class
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 821 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2018

They gave me the wrong room, not the superior kind I had booked on Hotels.com, paying online before my arrival. I had forget I had booked a superior room, at the same price. During the first night I remembered it, and I asked to change the room, to the night porter, and at the reception the morning after. They have been so nice to me. They changed me the room, a good one, but with a broken window. The evening of my arrival a man of the staff, laughing at me, told me that the police station is closed at night, and nobody's there, when I said I would park my motorcycle in front of the station. That's not true! It's not open, but someone is there at night! It's not a shop! Some rude young people of the staff around the reception at night, while there was party inside the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RAADVAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine M, Director of Sales at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear Raadvan
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in the Central Hotel
We always appreciate feedback and thank you for same,
I do apologise in regards to the mix up with your room but am glad to see that this was then rectified during your stay. I am unsure of the situation you had in regards to parking your motorcycle outside the local Garda station as we have concessionary parking at the rear of the hotel. Again i apologise that you met some rude people during your stay
I do hope you have the opportunity to return to us in the near future and i would urge you to reach out to myself directly so i can arrange a nice upgraded room with a view overlooking Donegal Bay for you
Kind regards
Elaine McInaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Had a two night stay here and was great, it’s very welcoming as soon as you walk in, friendly staff, very clean and comfortable rooms.
The swimming pool, jacuzzi and steam room are fantastic, can’t comment on the gym because I didn’t use it but looks good.
Will be booking again very shortly.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine M, Director of Sales at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear George
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in the Central Hotel
We are very lucky to have a great team of friendly staff and i am delighted you had time to enjoy our leisure centre
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon
Please do reach out to us directly when you are booking as we would love to upgrade you to a spacious room overlooking Donegal Bay

Kind regards
Elaine McInaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Step out your door and you are in the middle of town. Plenty of shopping, food and pubs to visit. We ate breakfast here twice and very pleased. One dinner was equally good. The property is a bit in need of upkeep. Nothing major just some paint and caulking here and there. They offer a pool and spa. Great after a long day of site seeing. Every staff member was great and helpful. Great view from some rooms.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank sunhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine M, Director of Sales at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear Sunhead
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Central Hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and do hope you have the opportunity visit again. As you say there is so much to see and do all on our doorstep, we are very lucky Donegal is a wonderful place

Kind regards
Elaine McInaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Reatuarant and bar staff were lovely and friendly but the way they were spoke to by senior staff was unpleasant to see...Food was not great scrambled egg was black.rooms were clean and basic.bar prices were shocking ..

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 1889angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine M, Director of Sales at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear 1889angie
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in the Central Hotel
I am glad you had the chance to meet out friendly team of staff and will invesitate comments in regards to speaking unpleasant as this is not usual standard. In regards to breakfast i do apologise for the experience and can confirm our breakfast culinary team has recenntly changed and been upgraded with a fabulous offering for all our guests.
I am unsure as to issues in regards to bar prices as our prices are very much in line and good value however if you wish to reach out to me directly i can invesitate further for you
My email is elaine@centralhoteldonegal.com
Kind regards
Elaine McInaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in this Hotel. It was warm, welcoming and definitely worth a return visit. Donegal town has so much to offer. Hotel has a leisure centre ad well. Not state of the art but very enjoyable. Good good too .

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Thelma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine M, Director of Sales at The Central Hotel - Donegal, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Thelma

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Central Hotel
We always appreciate feedback and i am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I do hope your tavels allow you the chance to return soon to Donegal Town

Kind regards
Elaine McInaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews