We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrating the Year of the Rooster”

The Brush & Spoon Cafe
Ranked #280 of 728 Restaurants in Cork
Price range: US$6 - US$17
Description: The Brush & Spoon Café is a casual dining space located at Gallery Crafts, a well established craft and art gallery. We serve a thoughtful and creative breakfast and lunch menu which combines the artistic talents of artist and proprieter Fiona Turley and the culinary expertise of chef Jennifer O'Gorman. With a carefully selected wine menu, and elegant surroundings, we offer a perfect venue to relax with friends and family.
Restaurant details
Description: The Brush & Spoon Café is a casual dining space located at Gallery Crafts, a well established craft and art gallery. We serve a thoughtful and creative breakfast and lunch menu which combines the artistic talents of artist and proprieter Fiona Turley and the culinary expertise of chef Jennifer O'Gorman. With a carefully selected wine menu, and elegant surroundings, we offer a perfect venue to relax with friends and family.
Reviewed 7 February 2017

For 20 lucky people, The Brush and Spoon opened its doors at 7.30 pm on Saturday 28th January for a special evening celebration to welcome in the Chinese New Year. I had never been in the delightful village of Kilworth before and did not know of this café.
What a treat. Fabulous food, friendship and flavours. The evening started with Oriental finger food, a huge and varied array of delicacies prepared by Eric and his team in the long hours before our arrival. I cannot remember everything but there was more than enough to taste and please. Fans, chopsticks, Samurai swords and pagodas carved out of carrots were some of the theatrical props decorating the tables in the artisan shop counters. And, to eat, there was everything from oriental miniature doner kebabs, sushi and all sorts of treats in filo pastry such as prawns, duck and chicken. There was also visually attractive folds of smoked salmon and the most delicious thin slices of raw ginger like you have never tasted before. And all that was before we sat down for seven course tasting menu. The staff were lovely and confidently able to describe all the finger food set before us. And the meal itself was wonderful: the first course on our table of four people was a warm duck salad accompanied by two other dishes containing the most delicious and moist chicken breast slices and also belly of pork without the layer of fat but including crispy crackling, all served with great attention to detail and wonderful flavours. And on it went, one course equaling the next until we arrived at the final fish course which was moist salmon and scallop served on a bed of seaweed infused tagliatelle. Check out their daytime menu on their website and set off for The Brush and Spoon Café in Kilworth. You will be right pleased.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Anthonypnolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

The Brush & Spoon cafe is one of those places that both surprises and delights. When I have time I love to call and have a leisurely lunch. Since the menu is different on every visit, it never gets stale so there is the surprise and when lunch is served, that's the delight. I somehow feel that if Lunch did not meet Fiona's standards it would not be served, so far any lunch I have attended surpassed all of mine. Well done to the team, it's a credit to yes all.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank L6358ABpeterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

I've eaten here twice, the food is very fresh and tasty. I loved the scones and brown bread you'd know they were fresh out of the oven,all the food was well presented, hats off to the chef. Lovely ambiance and location. Only negative I would have is that as there is no refill of coffee it makes it a bit over priced, other than this its perfect

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ycluddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brushandspoon, Owner at The Brush & Spoon Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Thanks for taking time to write your review, i will pass on your kind words to Jen our chef. We have introduced a second coffee for €1 which I hope helps.
best wishes and thanks for visiting the Brush & Spoon
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely classy cafe with a sophisticated menu. Ideal for a quiet lunch. I had pear and goats cheese bruschetta, my dad had ham and brie bruschetta. His was the nicer of the two but all tasty. Lovely gift shop attached to the cafe as well.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank 401elliem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brushandspoon, Owner at The Brush & Spoon Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Hi Ellie thanks for your review, so glad you enjoyed your lunch and we look forward to seeing you again soon
best wishes Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Located off of the gift shop gallery a little gem. Beautiful home made cuisine in modern surroundings. Service very slow but the food made up for it. Really nice and fairly reasonable.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brushandspoon, Owner at The Brush & Spoon Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Hi Marie Thank you for your review and taking the time to to write it. We are sorry you found the service slow and we are working hard to make everyones experience a good one. Our food is of the highest quality, we don't microwave food,so our service may seem slower but it assures that our food is fresh and good. We look forward to meeting you again .Best wishes Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brush & Spoon Cafe also viewed

Fermoy, County Cork
Fermoy, County Cork
 
Cork, County Cork
Cork, County Cork
 
Cork, County Cork
 

Been to The Brush & Spoon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing