We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 461)
Filter reviews
2 461 results
Traveller rating
1 212
735
280
153
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 212
735
280
153
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pembroke restaurant escape spa south mall michael collins car park vitality suite cork city english market old world charm the penthouse superior room central location afternoon tea fantastic location city break hotel bar checking out
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 2 461 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

We had our wedding here on the August bank holiday weekend and couldn’t rave about them enough! Jim and Lynda went above and beyond to make our day perfect, we were really disorganized and they really helped us get it together in time! We had a large number of kids at the wedding and they were so accommodating and understanding of the stress of such a long day for the kids.

We have had so many friends and family members get in contact to compliment the incredible job that the imperial did on the day. We are so grateful to the whole team for being so brilliant and such good craic, it was an absolute pleasure! The food, the drinks, the friendliness and kindness of each and every staff member made it our dream wedding! If you are considering the imperial for your wedding venue you will not be disappointed!

Pictures include the bed in one of the two incredible rooms in the penthouse, for scale that’s a 5 year old! you’ll never want to leave!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rebecca41518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrederikPotgieter, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Guest

Congratulations once again, it was such a pleasure for us to play a part in your special day.

I am thrilled you had such a great day and time with us, we want to ensure these wonderful occasions are incredibly special and truly memorable and your amazing feedback is simply music to our ears, I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Jim , Lynda and the service team who I know will be over the moon.

Wishing you all the happiness for your future together.

Warm regards

Frits

Frits Potgieter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Very welcoming and nice place to stay, right in the city centre very kind and good staff. Breakfast amazing nice ambience.
Hotel room was spacious and comfortable beds. Rooms were also very clean had a pleasant stay.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Pheona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrederikPotgieter, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Imperial with us and others.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, your feedback is so very important to me as we look to gauge our service and product through the eyes of our customers – ultimately this is the only way to continually improve.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes

Frits

Frits Potgieter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Couldn't rate this hotel enough..Staff were excellent, our family room was beautiful and spacious...Room was beautifully laid out..The food was also excellent. Very central to Cork city.Will definitely be back

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank maggie424242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrederikPotgieter, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us, I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at The Imperial.

It is incredibly pleasing for me to read that you were impressed with our newly renovated bedrooms, we have continually invested in The Imperial to deliver an elegant, classic feel and want to ensure our service is always warm, friendly and impeccably professional. Your positive feedback and commitment to return means the world to me and my team and are incredibility motivating for us all, thank you.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Frits

Frits Potgieter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Staff could not have been nicer and more helpful. Were able to offer advice on where to go to make the most of our visit to Cork. Central location with parking available, great food and just nice people. Not cheap but worth it! Highly recommended

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Del286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrederikPotgieter, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Guest

Wow, a “perfect” review, thank you for writing about us!

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay and I am very appreciative of your personal recommendation.

Thank you for choosing The Imperial, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes

Frits

Frits Potgieter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

The atrium is welcoming and beautiful. Marble flooring. The staff is warm and welcoming too. The location is central to the many amazing places, like The English Market. A bridge walkaway ten minutes from the theatre area.

Handsome restored old beauty... the hotel is said to be 205 years old.

Not sure what most rooms are like, we were told we were upgraded. Our room was fabulous. Larger than most. Large tub. Nice modern sink. Comfortable Bed. View outside Ok. Linens clean and nice light from window... view outside nothing special, but not offensive either.

Towels nice.

Service was always with a smile.

Airport lost luggage for us and others, and another person's luggage came to our room... the staff was concerned and the man who picked it back up sincerely cared about getting it where it belonged.

The Irish are friendly to begin with... so friendly service is not unusual anywhere... but it was still warm and inviting.

Fresh apples and chocolate awaited us in the room. Apples delicious.

While service in the restaurant was also warm and friendly, the food was awful. After the first day we declined the free breakfast. We would love to return, but probably not eat there.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelmR9532AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrederikPotgieter, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing The Imperial for your recent stay in Cork, it was a pleasure to have you with us.

The Imperial Hotel is indeed regarded by many as the ‘Grand Dame’ of Cork, and has been part of the very fabric and life of the city for over 200 years. We are situated just minutes from the bustling main shopping and commercial areas of Cork, and just a short work from the world famous English Market.

The hotel has a rich history, having been designed by Thomas Deane in 1813, it was initially used as commercial rooms for city merchants. In 1816 the building was extended to serve as a hotel and coach yard for the visiting business people, traders and merchants. Several famous figures have stayed in the hotel over the years including Fr. Mathew, The Temperance Priest, writers Sir. Walter Scott, William Makepeace Thackeray and Charles Dickens. One of the most famous figures was Michael Collins who negotiated the Irish Free State Treaty in 1921 and who spent his last night on earth in room 115 at the Imperial before he was shot on that fateful day in August 1922 at Béal na Bláth, West Cork.

I am pleased you enjoyed your overall stay but I am disappointed that you felt our food offering was lacking, perhaps you might be so kind as to reach out to me on Fpotgieter@ImperialHotelCork.ie as I hope to gain a little more detail, so I can address any shortfalls with the greatest sense of urgency,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, I look forward to hearing from you and hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best wishes

Frits

Frits Potgieter, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews