We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locally Sourced Mediterranean Food”
Review of Rachel's

Rachel's
Ranked #78 of 699 Restaurants in Cork
Price range: US$20 - US$58
Description: The combination of our rich soil, a temperate climate and an abundance of rain gives us some of the best conditions in the world to produce nourishing food. Rachel's purpose is to serve simple, naturally produced and delicious tasting food from the local Cork area. Where possible our vegetables, fruit and herbs are picked then delivered every morning from our organic farm at Ballymaloe Cookery School.
Restaurant details
Description: The combination of our rich soil, a temperate climate and an abundance of rain gives us some of the best conditions in the world to produce nourishing food. Rachel's purpose is to serve simple, naturally produced and delicious tasting food from the local Cork area. Where possible our vegetables, fruit and herbs are picked then delivered every morning from our organic farm at Ballymaloe Cookery School.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Modern food in a modern setting in Cork. Upscale lunch and drinks after St. Paddy's Day parade. Live music and a bustling bar to match the delicious food. Attentive waitstaff with that special Irish touch for superb customer service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank fatherofthebride563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 May 2018

Hi fatherofthebride563,

Thank you for taking the time to write your very kind review.

We are so glad that you enjoyed St Patrick's day here with us at Rachel's and hopefully we will see you back again very soon.

Kindest regards,

Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Visited on a Saturday night in March , really busy and vibrant restaurant, good menu with seasonal choices , we had mix of steaks and seafood and all were top class , with a mix of beautifully cooked vegetables and fabulous fried potatoes, deserts continued the trend again faultless, the setting is really nice it’s got a New York loft look , it can tend to sound a little loud it probably needs a little clever discreet sound absorbing, that said it tends to add to the buzz overall, dont Leave without visiting the cocktail bar for drinks and live piano playing , in fact I’m sorry I didn’t go beforehand for one ! Next time which won’t be long I hope.

1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 May 2018

Hi Colin B,

What a lovely review, thank you!

We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us and found the restaurant to be buzzy and the food delicious.

Hopefully we will see you again soon for a pre dinner cocktail in the piano bar.

Warmest regards,

Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

ate here very recently again and had two lovely mains of chicken and slow cooked faetherblade. Staff where really nice and food was very very tasty. However, the menu options have been dramatically shortened and the wine list changed beyond recognition and I’m sad to say that the wines we had were terrible.

Perhaps Rachel needs to get off of the television and back in her restaurant to support her team !!

    • Service
7  Thank NCCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

After hearing so much about Rachel's I was excited to finally experience it for myself. My boyfriend had booked dinner here as part of my Valentine's gift.
We had a lovely table by the window and our server was very nice and attentive.
The food was amazing. Starters were very generous and the steaks were some of the best we have ever had and were cooked to perfection and so tender. We even managed to fit in some dessert but we were so full we could not finish it all.
Price wise it was not overly expensive and on par with similar restaurants.
Atmosphere is enjoyable and they also have a small piano bar for a drink pre or post meal or even both.
Staff are also to be credited friendly and efficient.
I am looking forward to my next visit.

1  Thank QuinEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 May 2018

Hi QuinEm,

Thank you so much for your really lovely review of Rachel's.

We are so glad that you enjoyed the whole experience with us and I will of course pass on your very kind compliments to the staff who I know will be delighted and really appreciate it.

We very much look forward to welcoming both you and your boyfriend back again very soon.

Kindest regards,

Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We have visited Rachels for a business dinner. The homemade bread was nice, mushroom bruschetta really good and tagliatelle tasty. My friends were having lamb and it was average, also not seasoned really well. Overall an ok night.

1  Thank piotruszka26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 May 2018

HI Piotruszka26,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your visit to Rachel's.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and I will of course pass your friends comments on the kitchen team.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Nicola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rachel's also viewed

 

Been to Rachel's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing