We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No food to talk about”

Ciaran Danny Mike's Pub and Restaurant
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Good for drink but the meals lacked any imagination or taste. I woukd of been happier with pot nodles to be honest did nothing for me or my family, sad as it is a small island but lots if visitors when we were there. Please pay a chef is my advice or get a new one.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank lebelle39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2015

Stayed at CDM's b&b, very homely, and ate at their bar accross the road, excellent service, family run, stayed there twice in recent years, the food is homemade and wholesome, and the portions were huge!

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Gerard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014

Fantastic grub here and Mary was soooooo helpful to me as i kayaked around Ireland with lots of friendly banter from her and the student staff. The soup and scones were excellent and the sea food first rate. This place is a must though as has been said the photo of charlie Haughie is going a little far !! lol enjoyed all the amazing scenery and the tranquility of the lanes and bays.... will be coming back soon :) Thanks

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank pompeypaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Mary and her staff genuinely were happy to see us. We loved the cold fresh seafood platter with brown scones - just a fantastic memory sitting outside enjoying the peace of the island. The quietness of Cape clear is not like any other....
This bar has a limited menu but yet has enough to choose from and is good value too.. Looking forward to next year already !

Date of visit: July 2014
1  Thank Tommy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

After spending the day exploring the island there is only two things a Man needs 1. A decent Pint and 2. A good feed and CDM delivers both with a friendly smile and a warm touch

We stayed two nights on the Island and ate here both nights. For me with the crystal blue sea's the only thing I wanted was fish and the chef definitely knows how to cook it perfectly. It comes with veg and spuds and butter the only way they should be served.

Wash that down with a creamy pint of Murphy's and say no more !

Cannot recommend this place or Cape Clear highly enough.

1  Thank samo077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ciaran Danny Mike's Pub and Restaurant also viewed

Cape Clear Island, County Cork
 

Been to Ciaran Danny Mike's Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing