We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place for a family of 5”
other travellers have booked this property
View of cottage from back garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of cottage from back garden
Beaton Cottage kitchen Beaton Cottage living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
View of cottage from back garden
Beaton Cottage kitchen
Beaton Cottage living area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Linlithgow, West Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Stargolf
Lochgilphead
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not dog friendly...... better descried as dog tolerant”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed over Christmas and New Year. The entrance to the cottage is a bit off putting as it is through a Landscapers yard. On arrival the cottage was cold and we were given a "Welcome" letter which consisted of do's and don'ts. mainly don'ts. This was backed up by the not very welcoming owners daughter who emphasised what the dog wasn't allowed to do. The dog was not allowed upstairs and was only allowed in the garden on a lead, she also gave us a lecture about picking up any dog mess. I asked where the nearest dog walking area was and she directed us to an area in the town which meant we had to keep going out in the car to walk the dog. At this point I was regretting booking this property. Our stay was OK but as we did not feel particularly welcome this put a damper on the whole thing, The cottage was spotlessly clean but the garden area was badly neglected. The small patio area was covered in dead leaves and the other area of the garden was covered in fallen rotten apples, the local wildlife were eating these which caused us concern. There are lights at the doors of the property but none in the garden and the ones in the driveway were the solar powered ones which did not work, These properties have changed ownership recently and I think the new owners have a bit to learn about the hospitality industry. As far as dogs are concerned they would be better deciding they do not want dogs in their property

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Not suitable for taking dogs to
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance N
Boekel, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for a family of 5”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Couldn't have asked for a better place. Quiet, comfortable and far away from everything but also close enough to where we wanted to go. My family and I stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage during our 4 day holiday in Scotland. We chose Linlithgow because of the central location between Glasgow and Edinburgh. Everything was perfect. David, was very prompt and curteous with all email correspondence. While we was not available during our stay, he gave us contacts in the event that we needed something, which we did(thanks Madalene and Henry!). The cottage itself was big enough for our family (2 adults, 17, 14, and 9 yr old) and had all the amenties that we needed. We would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone looking for a nice getaway. Just be prepared to go a little off the beaten path to get there.....but well worth it!

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & comfort.
Liked least: One bathroom but we could have rented a cottage that had more.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kawasaki1...
kawasaki1992
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage.”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My wife and i booked a 2 bed cottage for 4 nights, the cost of which was very reasonable. We were greeted on arrival by David, who made us feel extremely welcome, he had left lemon loaf baked by Helen which we very much enjoyed with a cup of tea, prior to unpacking. The cottage is located in a lovely tranquil picturesque setting only a short drive from Linlithgow. The weather for the time of year was very good so no need for heating but there were plenty of panel heaters throughout and i would imagine you would be very cosy holidaying here during the winter months. The one negative point for us was that the only bathroom/toilet was on the ground floor, whilst both bedrooms were on the upper level. having to negotiate stairs particularly during the night should you need to `go` and we both did was not the best. On our last morning at the cottage my wife took a tumble, she had gone upstairs to fetch down a fresh towel, this was in her right hand, as she realised she was going to fall she sought to save herself but to no avail, there is nothing on the left at the top of the stairs to hold on to and that was her free hand, so down she went. Sadly this was an end to our holiday, we were to move on but it soon became clear her injuries were worse that we at first thought and a week later she is still housebound. I do not mention this to apportion blame on anyone, it was an accident, but it may make others more aware. Up until this happened we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the blissful peace and quiet.
Liked least: The downstairs bathroom.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A wonderful home from home”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We booked at short notice and were delighted with the friendliness of the couple who own or manage. Helen was great on the phone and David greeted us very warmly when we arrived and showed us round then left us to settle in with some delicious cake just baked by Helen and some fresh milk to go in our first cup of tea. Everywhere was clean and tidy and the setting is wonderful. We settled in easily and felt truly at home. A really good feeling in a holiday rental, which we have found you only get at the top end of the ratings scale, and these cottages are right at the top end. If we need accommodation in Linlithgow again, this is where we will choose. We had a superb break.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall standard
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cynnie50
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 25 February 2013 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very enjoyable stay in this lovely cottage. The location was great with easy access to the motorway and a short 15 min drive to the park and ride into Edinburgh and also not far to Stirling. David came to welcome us on the day of our arrival and gave us information on things to do and check that we had everything we needed. Linlithgow is a lovely place to visit.

Date of stay: November 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Small shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
South Africa
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.