We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Christmas at Alt Dubh”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alt Dubh

Alt Dubh
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alt Dubh
Spa Room Approaching down the single track lane
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Alt Dubh
Spa Room
Approaching down the single track lane
A walk to the sea from the cottage door
A view from every window
surrounding landscape
Garden and view
Sauna
Hot Tub
Lounge
Dining Room
Kitchen
Bathroom
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 view
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 view
Rush hour traffic
One of the many fantastic beaches
Dawn looking out from the cottage
Sunset at Bosta beach Great Bernera
Hebridean Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharon C
Isle of Barra, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs unless you like being ripped off and freezing cold!”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
10
people found this review helpful

I am so upset by having to write this review.
We live out on the Western Isles and have never rented a property so poorly presented or so expensive.
I hesitated to write this as a previous bad reviewer had the threat of the deposit not being returned but I will not be bullied.
We arrived to find the cottage FREEZING COLD! a seriously wet and cold day in February and not even one electric heater had been left on. Instead a basket of soaking wet logs, no kindling, no firelighters awaited and a pitiful bucket of coal bits and pieces.
The bathroom was so cold we did not want to shower...next idea lets get in the hot tub to warm us up?! ...but NO that was cold too...and takes 8 hours? to heat up.
Back to the shower then with a trickle of hot water and freezing cold environment..oh the kitchen hot tap doesn't work either as pointed out previously in reviews and the cottages comment book.
After our first night without hardly any heat wearing almost all of our thermals and outdoor hats, we awoke to the single glazed metal windows streaming with condensation..no view through that! The dead flies on the floor and slight grubbiness was disappointing. Hard to ignore the woodchip and emulsion wallcoverings as by then as we were sliding into total despair of the place. So a trip out on our first day to find logs, kindling, firelighters and coal...think we spent around £40 on fuel on top of the rental.
Oh by the way the coal fire in the lounge has no baffle plate, therefore all the heat goes up the chimney. We then arrive home to find that a booking fee that has not been mentioned before of £54 was being added to the £110 a night!! TOTAL RIP OFF! You do not deserve that amount per night for such a poorly presented property.
We took plenty of photographs to prove our points.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: overall lack of care for guests ..they just want your money
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
For the benefit of future guests I will address these points.
There is a heater in every room. The woodburners are additional as guests often like the ambience/glow of the flames. It is something not everyone has these days—a live fire. For this reason we supply an initial supply of kindling, wood and coal---it is not required to heat the house
The bathroom had a total refurb in February. The shower is brand new and works perfectly well and as it should. We will install an additional heater if we find the now tiled floor has made this necessary.
The kitchen tap does work. You need to run it a little while to allow the hot water time to come through.
The lounge heater is a new storage heater that blasts a lot of heat out---it is left on prior to all guests arriving. In fact it is always on as we keep the house warm in the winter even when no one is in.
The hot tub does take 8 hours to heat and hasn’t always reached its optimum temperature when guests arrive early, especially when we have back to back bookings and Saturday changeovers. In this case we prepared the hot tub the previous day as we always do if no one is in the cottage and we can do so.
I have many excellent and good reviews from people who appreciated and enjoyed what we have on offer here. The cottage carries a premium because it has a spa room which is unique and not available with other properties. This facility is costly to maintain and provide during lettings. Short breaks are more expensive per night than full weeks as in any business of this nature there are standard costs incurred each letting that need to be absorbed.
I accept there are some single glazed crittle windows . Whilst I am reluctant to lose the character these provide we are in the process of replacing these with new doubled glazed windows as is the case in the newly fitted bathroom.
In respect of the booking fee. When booking on Holiday lettings or indeed Trip Advisor the full price is quoted (which includes the booking fee) on the same page you enter your card payment details on. You pay the amount shown on this screen. I do not personally charge a booking fee and do not add any payments when you return home. It is a part of the payment which is paid direct to Holiday Lettings at the very beginning of the booking process.
The damage deposit is exactly that. I do not attempt to use it in any other way. This is returned to you automatically by Holiday Lettings 10 days after you check out.
I do honestly believe that there should be a system to rate guests who stay. Airbnb have this system. Businesses would then be better able to make a decision re potential guests they may not wish to have.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
1 review
“Christmas at Alt Dubh”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had the best Christmas at Alt Dubh. The cottage is clean cosy and has the most amazing view. We came here to get away from it all and we truly did not want to leave. Please do not be put off by some of the reviews, they do not match our experience.

This cottage has had lots of work done to it and it is clear the owners take pride in this gem of a cottage. The hot tub and sauna is such a luxury to come home to. The bedrooms are warm and the beds comfortable, the kitchen well equipped with everything you need to cook up a feast!

Plenty of books board games and DVD's to keep you entertained on a dark night and again the hot tub is just bliss!

The owners are so helpful and considerate too, I really can't recommend this place enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandra p
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Digital Detox”
Reviewed 16 January 2016 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

This is our second visit to Alt Dubh having spent a couple of days here last year we longed to return.
I am unsure how someone can describe this cottage as run down. We absolutely love it and have enjoyed ourselves as much this time as last year.
The highlights for us--
Location---what peace and what a wonderful view to wake up to. Sitting at the garden table and listening to nothing --other than the birds, the breeze and the waves crashing on the shore.
Being disconnected from the outside world with no internet or mobile phone coverage. You really have no choice but to relax.
The hot tub is simply amazing--and again with a view. We just lazed away a few hours one evening watching the sky and sea turn pink. Beautiful. A great idea to have the hot tub installed indoors. If it were outdoors as in most other holiday lets, you would not be able to enjoy the facility as much, as either the midges or the weather would spoil the experience.
Cosy woodburners to sit around in the evening and if you have any time left watching a dvd. Pure bliss.
We appreciated the Harris tweed accessories and the walking books, maps and local information provided to help plan our days out.
Thank you once again for such a wonderful holiday in this well equipped and well thought out cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location Location Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie J
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 17 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Not sure where the last reviewer stated but it's not the same place we went to and as for the owners they really couldn't have been more helpful.

This is an old characterful property, that means it's not going to be perfect but by goodness the owners have invested to make it a wonderful place to stay. It has amazingly thick walls and beautiful real fire places. A brilliantly well equipped kitchen.

As for the shed, well let's face it if I had a shed like this one I'd neve leave home! The spa room was lovely, relaxing in the sauna and hot tub, my partner braved the cold shower I stuck to the lovely warm one in the house that I must say was better than the one we have at home.

All in all a fantastic stay, the only reason for 4 stars and not 5 is the hot tub took a bit longer than expected to be ready, the owners did let us know on the way that it might be the case so not really a big issue - I would have liked to spend the whole of my time in it but the area is too pretty not to explore. Lots of ideas on walks and things to do, also a huge collection of DVDs so although no terrestrial tv we had stuff to entertain us when the storm was passing through.

A beautiful island and a wonderful place to stay, would highly recommend and we've had no issues at all getting our deposit back.

The previous reviewer really made me think twice about booking this place, I'd like to say don't let it put you off it really is lovely and so are the owners - thank you for a wonderful place to stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Waiting for the hot tub :)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qazwsx123...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Allowed to become run-down and generally disappointing.”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

If the owners kept on top of the maintenance of this property it would come recommended but at the moment the run-down nature of the cottage makes it vastly overpriced. We stayed in July 2015 and found a shower which constantly alternated between dangerously boiling hot and stone-cold water which made it unusable. The cottage was damp and of the 5 heaters on the property only one worked (although we were left with one portable oil-filled)! It gives the impression they are waiting for the off-season until anything gets repaired but that's no good for those staying this year.

On returning home I recommended to the owner that they might like to offer a small refund as a goodwill gesture only to be fired back with some ridiculous accusation that we had further blemished an already damaged kitchen worktop and they would keep our deposit (they didn't)! They had photos to prove it they said. Luckily we had photos too from the moment we arrived and when I asked to compare ours with theirs all communication was stopped.

I'm not saying "Don't stay here", but I can only advise that if you plan to stay in 2016 that you check with the owners beforehand that all problems there have been resolved.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub and remote location.
Liked least: The feeling of being ripped off.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2015
It is unfortunate that we did have an issue with 2 storage heaters for a couple of weeks. We advised guests before their stay of the issue and left a good supply of wood and coal for the two woodburners and a plug in radiator.
The faulty heaters have now been replaced
The shower has been tested by an electrician and works as it should.
Over the last 6 months we have put oak laminate flooring throughout the ground floor and also installed a new kitchen.
Coupling this with the spa and sauna room , to describe our property as run down is quite an unfair statement--it had some faulty heaters
We are pleased however that this customer would still recommend us to family and friends.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing