We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical..”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Eagle Bay Cottages

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Hollychew
Edzell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magical..”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
6
people found this review helpful

It was an absolute pleasure to have spent our time in Lewis staying at eagles Bay cottages. The attention to detail I felt was similar to the comfort and luxury as Gleneagles hotel. Lewis, Harris and Uig in the west - are simply jewels in the crown of Scotland's stunning breathtaking scenery - the geology of the Island stretches one's imagination. Hosts, David and Kathleen add that little bit extra sparkle of magic from booking the cottages and when meeting you with your keys. To greet you - a bottle of Vintage champagne fresh salmon - home baked cakes and fresh fruit - with lots of other goodies ...sauna was wonderful..
Absolutely Loved staying here - we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding!”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
8
people found this review helpful

Without doubt the best self catering cottage that we have ever stayed in. Amazing building I an amazing location. I would recommend without any hesitation at all. The location works really well for both Lewis and Harris and we had some amazing days.

I have never posted on trip advisor before but this place has prompted me into action. If I could give 6 stars I would.

Find the time and take the trip. You will not regret it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithaSia...
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Re-defining self catering accommodation”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Anyone thinking about booking Eagle Bay Cottages should stop thinking & just do it. The cottages & location are truly unbelievable. This was our first visit to the Outer Hebrides, and bearing in mind we travelled in February, were concerned that we would be weather-bound in the accommodation. It didn't turn out that way but it wouldn't have mattered, the cottages are so good I would have been happy to spend the entire week indoors. From the welcome pack (prepare to be impressed), the standard of fixtures & furnishings, the wonderful bathroom, the bed....everything is so impressive. The kitchen, equipped with top brand appliances, has every conceivable gadget you will ever need. It even has a tool for removing stones from olives! David & Kathleen are perfect hosts, there if you need them, respecting your privacy if you don't. They have thought this venture through, and have got everything right. We arrived just in time to see the Scotland v Wales 6 nations game, and as a fanatic Welshman I couldnt believe how little of the game I watched, the view from the lounge is that good! We had an amazing week, the wildlife (saw otters, eagles, grey seals from the cottage), the contrasting Lewis/Harris landscapes, the people of the Islands, even the weather.....! Remarkable accommodation in a stunning location made possible by genuine people. Thank you David & Kathleen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, without exception
Liked least: The feeling as we drove up the hill as we left
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggy S
UK
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“In a word - FAB-U-LOUS!”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

I had read the previous reviews and I have to say that this exceeded my already very high expectations. On arriving the wonderful sunny weather did help but what a welcome! Fresh flowers, home baking, champagne and classic FM, and a wonderful panoramic view of the Atlantic Ocean. Awesome! This is a very special place to stay whatever the weather. It is large and roomy with every creature comfort you could think of. I usually stay in the best hotels but this was even better. Beautiful furniture and very comfortable bed afforded not only a great stay but a superb night's sleep as well. You can also use the sauna and sit on the terrace if the weather affords it but we found ourselves wrapping up and having the sparkling bubbles on the terrace watching the wildlife and the ocean. Would I return? In a heartbeat. This is fabulous. A long journey to get there but totally worth it. Lovely island with gracious people and the owners give you all the privacy you need although they are just along the road. Loved it and will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the ambience
Liked least: Could not fault it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie G
Silsden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lost for words”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
7
people found this review helpful

We've never been to Harris and Lewis although spend a lot of time on he other Islands, I'd researched extensively as usual and thought I knew exactly what to expect from Loch Erisort and the cottages but upon arrival, walking in and seeing the view from the panoramic windows as the sun was setting I was completely blown away. I'd agree with other reviewers that even though the pictures are fabulous the reality is much better. The cottage is kitted out with the very best of everything but just spending time watching the changing light, huge skies and snow storms blowing down the loch made a Winter visit well worthwhile and we got up before dawn to watch it all unfold. We arrived to a chilled bottle of Champagne and home baking, beautiful lighting and classical music which was nice as it was a significant Birthday for my husband. The furnishings were really comfortable and after a bracing walk you can lie in the bath tub with yet another view of the loch or step into the sauna for a warm up. Stornaway is approx 20 mins away by car but if you don't want to go there to eat then be prepared to cook as there really isn't anything else in the vicinity in Winter, the Erisort Inn is closed until the end of March. The kitchen is fantastic and has every piece of equipment you could ever need so cooking is no real effort.
We've been lucky enough to travel the world and see some beautiful places but this really has to be one of he best and we will definitely return. We travel around trying to spot wildlife and on these Islands it was effortless as they appear untouched and we saw Golden Eagles , White Tailed Eagles and Otters all in one day.
David and Kathleen were a pleasure to deal with and really helpful when we had ferry disruptions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the lounge.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing