We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Booking.com
eDreams
FindHotel
View all 6 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
335
7
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
335
7
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outer hebrides first class beautiful lounge tom and sue excellent hosts place to stay laundry room well stocked bar stayed for nights fantastic stay breakfast was excellent platter bedroom accommodation house island lewis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2021

Stayed as part of 'Immerse Hebrides' Swimming retreat, which was also amazing plus and extra night as we arrived a day early and chose to stay at Broad bay house which was definitely the right choice
The whole place was very comfortable and spotless.
The service and attention to detail was second to none.
The breakfasts were freshly cooked beautifully presented and the menu varied, also the platters and Saturday night dinner were excellent.

Room tip: Quiet, peaceful, comfortable room with everything available one could need.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneandJohn49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue Reid, Owner at Broad Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2021

Thank you for your amazing review. So pleased you had a great weekend and thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. Hope to see you back here one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2021

I stayed one night before getting the ferry back to Ullapool.

The guesthouse is about ten minutes drive from Stornoway.

It is extremely well appointed with a very comfortable bedroom with all the amenities and an exceptionally comfortable bed. Small touches were appreciated, such as fresh milk in the fridge and comfortable dressing gowns. The room was spotlessly clean.

Tom gave me a warm welcome and talked through the key facts. The highlight was a delicious fish, meat and cheese platter, which has to be ordered in advance. For around £37 for one I thought it was good value. Delicious fresh langoustines, smoked salmon and smoked mussels and the rest. There was also a good breakfast.

The location is fantastic - a few yards from the beach with sweeping views across the Minch towards the Scottish mainland from the wonderful airy lounge with panoramic windows.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue Reid, Owner at Broad Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2021

Thank you for your 5-Star review, Peter. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write this review for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2021 via mobile

This is an absolute gem of a place, very small with only 4 rooms, but the level of service and attention to detail is first class. It starts the moment you arrive with not only a personal explanation of your room and the lounge / dinning area, this is then followed by tea and home made cakes. We stayed on a Sunday when the evening food offer was a platter. We had pre-ordered the most expensive one, but we were not disappointed, it was amazing. They offer a pretty good bar with plenty of gins and a small but more than adequate wine list. The rooms are comfortable and the bed and pillows were again first class.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Harrow187045
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue Reid, Owner at Broad Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2021

Thank you for your 5-Star review. It was a pleasure to host all 4 of you. Hope you are enjoying the rest of your trip around Scotland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2021

Unfortunately due to ferry issues our stay here was cut to one night .What can I say just wow .The views from the lounge are just amazing and having direct access to the beach is fab. Hosts explained everything the room had to offer and tea and cake on arrival was a warm welcome definitely what you need after the journey .The home made lemon curd for breakfast was a delight .The bedroom we were in had the most amazing deep bath and luxurious bath products for soaking away those blues. If I could have brought home the Lemon curd and the bath tub I would have lol
So disappointed never got to stay here for the two nights as would have liked to experienced dinner
Definitely want to return in near future and bring my mother and daughter.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue Reid, Owner at Broad Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2021

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and so pleased to read you had a great stay. Hope to see you back here very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2021 via mobile

Broad Bay House is a spectacular b&b. In fact the term B&B doesn’t give it the kudos, it deserves. The location, right on the coast line. The house, is purpose built, so well thought out and fabulous, with magnificent room for guests with full views of the sea and coastline. Sue and Tom are excellent hosts. Sue is a fabulous chef and we enjoyed 2 really good evening meals and the breakfast menu is equally as good with a really good hot and cold range (restaurant standard, worthy of 5*). We enjoyed a 3 course meal on our first night, and the most amazing sharing platter on our second night. Sue and Tom like to use local artisan foods from Lewis and Harris as much as possible. We were welcomed by fresh tea and coffee and homemade chocolate flapjack. Home made bread was also offered and used at breakfast, and was really good. Top quality facilities throughout, with Bose speakers and Dualit kettle in room, and lovely Molten Brown toiletries, cinema sound if you want to watch a movie. Added touches of fresh milk in little fridge, complimentary snacks. Due to Covid measures at the time of our visit, we could only drink alcohol in our rooms, which wasn’t a problem. Tom kindly moved my white wine to the house fridge to keep cool, that I had left for the following night. So thoughtful. I don’t often leave reviews but Broad Bay House certainly deserves a review. Such a credit to Sue and Tom, who clearly work hard to ensure guests are do well looked after. Sue and Tom both take time to chat to their guests, and equally give guests time on their own. We thought was a really good awareness of getting to know guests, but recognising when privacy is needed. They have us some excellent information and tips for sight seeing. When we departed, both Sue and Mark came to say good bye and wish us a safe journey. There’s so much more I could add, and it’s all good. They absolutely deserves their 5 ⭐️ We will definitely go back to Broad Bay House. Lewis and Harris was everything we imagined, and so much more, as was Broad Bay House. Huge thank you to Sue and Tom.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank juliep071
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue Reid, Owner at Broad Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2021

Thank you so much Julie, it was a pleasure to host you and we be delighted to see you back here very soon! Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review, it is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews