We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous house, great location - would highly...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Castleview

Castleview built in the early 1880s
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Castleview built in the early 1880s
Entrance Hallway Drawing Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Castleview built in the early 1880s
Entrance Hallway
Drawing Room
Dining Room
Kitchen with gas AGA
Kitchen with AGA
Bedroom 2
En suite for bedroom 2
Bedroom 6
Shared bathroom for bedrooms 3, 5 and 6
Phillipe Starke en suite for Master bedroom, 4
Upper landing
Balcony on upper level with view over private, enclosed garden to rear of property
Sitting room with sofa bed
Billiard Room
Original Victorian bathroom for bedroom 3. Bath and shower cannot now be used
Original Victorian bathroom for bedroom 3. Bath and shower cannot now be used
View of garden from Balcony
Large south facing rear garden
View across garden to back of Castleview
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carol R
1 review
“Fabulous house, great location - would highly recommend”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in September 2016

The house is beautiful, well looked after and clean with a central location.

I would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2017
Thank you Carol for your lovely review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Castleview- its central location is certainly a big draw for our guests and, as you know ,despite being only a few minutes walk from the town center the house and gardens are very quiet and peaceful .
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kirsteen @ Stirling Self Catering
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MegAberde...
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb in every way.”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at Castleview for two nights mid October 2016 to celebrate our son's 30th birthday with a large group of family....14 adults, one child and a baby. We were met at the house and shown round by a lovely guy called Toby. When he opened the main door to the property we knew we had chosen well. My fear was that because the house was so big and old that it may have had a damp musty smell. However, it was anything but. The house was beautifully cosy and warm and exceeded out expectations on all levels. Absolutely everything we needed for our stay was there and more. Lounge, sitting room, dining room were all so welcoming and the kitchen was fabulous. Bedrooms and bathrooms were to a high standard as was the bedding, towels etc.and the garden huge. The house is in a beautiful residential part of Stirling and a short walk into the city centre. All in all an amazing enormous house and the perfect place for a family get together. Only thing I can think of on a slightly negative note is leaving by 10am. How do you get 16 people up, fed and cleared out by 10am ?? !!! We did however get early entrance and a late departure but at a cost. I do appreciate turning the house round for new guests must take an army of staff !! I don't imagine anyone would be disappointed by this accommodation. Fantastic place. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience of living in such a huge, well kept property
Liked least: Expecting to be out by 10am and the weather !!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate your understanding in departing at 10am - as it does take a while to get ready for next arrival. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Brend...
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This house was abso amazing!! We had 4 families. 8 adults and 8 kids. We could not have asked for better accommodation. Loads of freedom for the kids meaning the adults could chill too. We were down for pretty muddy charity event, spent 2 nights and went to safari park in the Sunday on way home. We will defo be back.
£800 refundable damages deposit felt a bit steep but once you see the house you can understand why. We were refunded 4 days after stay finished so prompt enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
Delighted you enjoyed your stay at Castleview! It is the perfect house for large family get togethers with so many options of places for children to play, indoors and out. Hope to see you again!
Best wishes from all at Stirling Self Catering
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay in a great ,comfortable house”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely big house. Walking distance to Stirlingshire main attractions,city centre,restaurants,pubs,bus and rail stations. Excellent parking. Large comfortable house for families,groups etc. lovely snooker room. Would definitely recommend it. Great service by letting agents

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Great to hear that you had a great stay at Castleview. It is the perfect house for family groups and is so close to everything you need locally. Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meru388
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“An excellent house in a great location”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Castleview is all you could ask for. It is stylish, spacious, well equipped with a great garden and in a fantastic location. The kitchen is particularly impressive as are the lounges and the dining rooms. The bedrooms are large bright and airy...so what more could you ask for! ....an amazing billiard room on the top floor...it's got that too.
It is also a great location for exploring Stirling and its surroundings.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Thanks so much for leaving us such an excellent review! We are really delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the house to suite your needs so well. We get really positive feedback from guests about the space and of course the ideal central location. Hopefully we can welcome you back again at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1 047
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing