We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Bonnie Bothy!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ayr, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JewelsVer...
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Bonnie Bothy!”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We spent 7 delightful days here in early October, as a joint birthday celebration, courtesy of our offspring. It was magical to watch the gradual onset of autumn colours across the loch and hear the plaintiff cries of the overflying geese in the evenings. We were blessed with good weather and the late afternoon sun made the hot tub a joy to rest in after a busy day’s activities.
We concur with other reviewers that the Bothy is both comfortable and well appointed in all respects, apart perhaps from the lack of Internet access – but we survived. The welcome was warm and helpful, in spite of poor Diane’s ankle injury, as she hobbled round with the dogs to check all was well – hope that’s better now. Maintenance items were attended to promptly. William pointed out we might catch sight of the resident Barn Owl. We certainly heard it one night when we ventured out, as it flew directly overhead following exchange of calls with another over the loch. We also heard a Tawny. A deer passed by the window one day too.
We visited Ayr with its fine views of Arran and walked ‘The Lang Mile” and the stunning Culzean castle and estate with views of Ailsa Craig. Also walked around Dunure headland bird watching and spotting a deer in the bracken. More walking done in the rugged Galloway Forest Park and spent an enjoyable evening stargazing at the SDS Observatory there, with guidance from the astronomers. Another good day was a trip to Glasgow on the train from Ayr, seeing all the golf courses en-route; taking in the Kelvingrove gallery and the round city hop on/off bus. So plenty to do, apart from relaxing to the sound of the contented free range hens clucking and we enjoyed their eggs!
A tasty meal out was had at the nearby recommended Hollybush Inn, well cooked and good value. Tesco, Morrisons, Aldi and Lidl can all be found in Ayr, as can an M&S Food Hall on the nearby Heathfield Business Park!
All in all, a most enjoyable stay at a great property in a fine location.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: All good
Liked least: Nothing in particular
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us here at Swan Bothy and look forward to a return. The ankle is slowly but surely in the mend thanks Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location the peace and quiet and the high standards of the cottage
Liked least: not so important as we only visited for a weekend but could be doing with internet access
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope to see you all again soon.

Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Angela R
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Swan Bothy”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Swan Bothy for 4 nights, so relaxing and an idyllic location to get away from the stresses of every day life. the house is comfortable and cosy, very well equipped and lovely added extras of fresh flowers, freshly laid eggs from the resident hens, and honey from the estate bee's, fresh bread and milk. And a wee bottle of Prosecco!
The hot tub was fantastic and the views around the bothy and the estate stunning. Diane and William were lovely and helpful.
Highly recommend and we will definitely book Swan Bothy again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
Thanks for your lovely review. We are glad you had a lovely time and hope to see you all again soon.
Diane & William
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dthomson8...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem and the perfect retreat. ”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had booked a 3 night break for our honeymoon. It was a perfect getaway, so tranquil and relaxing. The bothy is really homely and comfortable. The hot tub was amazing with its views of the loch and at night all of the fairy lights and candles made it all the more romantic

We loved the extra touches like fresh eggs from the hens you see roaming around the grounds, honey from the hives on the grounds and fresh fruit from the trees around the bothy. It was made extra special with the chocolates on our pillows, the bottle of bubbly, biscuits and a personalised message on the chalk board.

I couldn't recommended this place enough,we will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Swan Bothy.

Warm regards Diane and William
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen_L_1...
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfectly beautiful and tranquil escape.”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We were lucky enough to book Swan Bothy as a last minute escape for the Bank Holiday weekend at the end of August 16. The communication with the owner, Diane, was fantastic! Very responsive, she got straight back to us the same night of enquiring and answered all of our questions.
And what a beautiful, peaceful setting - overlooking the 2 mile long loch. The wildlife there was amazing. There must have been 100 geese one night! It was fascinating to watch!
The property itself was just perfect. Very inviting with everything you could wish for including a fully equipped kitchen diner, lounge and utility room. The place was warm and inviting, with comfortable beds and two bathrooms offering a bath and shower so everyone is catered for. The hot tub was an added bonus, which we used every night. Diane and William are to be commended for thinking of the perfect little touches such as twinkling outside lights! These little touches were there throughout our stay from a very warm welcome from Diane, who showed us around, to the little gifts left for us. The home farmed honey, newly laid eggs and plums fresh from the tree were amazing. So very thoughtful! Thank you!
The location, just outside of Ayr is fantastic. So much to see or do within a 20 minute radius. We visited Ayr, Culzean Castle and the Robert Burns Birthplace Museum. All brilliant.
We loved our stay at Swan Bothy and would love to return one day. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Seriously nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Swan Bothy. Thanks so much for your lovely review. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Diane and William
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing