We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The White House

Where amazing views, begin.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Where amazing views, begin.
Elegant and calming reception area. The Study, somewhere to relax or plan your day?
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Where amazing views, begin.
Elegant and calming reception area.
The Study, somewhere to relax or plan your day?
The lounge, somewhere to chill out, and catch up on Tv.
The kitchen.
The downstair powder room.
The Landing.
The hallway.
The Culzean Suite.
The Culzean En Suite.
The Culzean En Suite.
The Rozelle Suite.
The Rozelle, En Suite.
The Aaron suite.
The Alloway
Fascinating Views
Footsteps from your doorstep.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Ayr, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Irene B
1 review
“Fabulous house”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I booked this house for my mother-in-laws 80th birthday and from the moment she walked through the door she loved it. The house is beautifully decorated and has everything you could want. Margaret goes that extra mile to make your stay memorable. There were birthday banners and balloons and the table was set with candles and balloons and even a card and present. There were ice buckets with a bottle of bubbly and beer. The fridge was stocked with everything you would need for a cooked breakfast and Margaret had made a pavlova in the shape of 80 with candles. Each bedroom had a box of chocolates and beautiful roses were in my mother-in-laws room. I cannot recommend this house highly enough. We loved it!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry T
Ontario, Canada
1 review
“The best rental ever! Amazing!”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My husband and I went to Scotland for my nephews wedding with family and we all stayed here at Margaret's house! The White House was amazing and so was our stay and the reason was because of Margaret...she was beyond helpful, she was like a Mom away from home❤️. The house was immaculate, fridge stocked and her help was at our fingertips if needed. Margaret went above and beyond with our family with her help while staying at the White House!
It made our stay in Scotland so enjoyable, we miss you Margaret and hopeful some day our paths will cross again...maybe in Canada next time! ❤️

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Margaret
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick W
Orillia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best rental house ever”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed July 17th to July 21st for my sons wedding in Ayrshire. This house is perfect for large group we all had our own bedrooms and lots of sitting at nights. Margaret was wonderful and even picked me up from the train and showed us how to get to the wedding site. Their is a lovely pub just around the corner and the beer is cold and the food is great. We all loved our stay at the White House and would go back in a heart beat just to see Margaret.
Sean Connery

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The great people
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFPSmith
Dunblane, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation what a brilliant place”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Tremendous holiday in an exceptional property. We were there with our extended family and everyone was blown away by the dimensions and the luxury of the White House. Our group was 10 adults and five children and there was so much room for everyone. The 5 children had three living rooms to choose from and we ended up using all three for them to spread out their toys. it was wonderful having a dining area that could seat all of us and we were also fortunate in being able to use the lovely garden area. Margaret was so generous with the food she had provided and also in preparing an extra fold up bed (brand new) for our grandson in the master bedroom which was probably the nicest bedroom of them all.
Overall a fantastic holiday and I am sure we will return some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular Accommodation”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Had the pleasure of staying in this beautiful house with family and friends for a special family occasion . Margaret the owner is delightful and extremely welcoming. It was my sisters 50th birthday and the house had been decorated with banners and balloons. The attention to detail was incredible. Not only was the house decorated Margaret also made a lovely pavlova in the shape of 50 complete with candles. Lovely bottle of Prosecco waiting in ice bucket.
The house is in a beautiful location yet only few miles from Ayr . The rooms are all immaculate and very tastefully decorated.Lots of small personal touches. our age range was from 18 to 81yrs. The kitchen is extremely well equipped and the fridge was left well stocked with food for lovely breakfast on both mornings. Cannot rate the experience highly enough . A weekend full of lasting special memories made possible by a very special lady Margaret, we hope to return in the future .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing