We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Better than we could have wished for.”
other travellers have booked this property
Doonbank Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Doonbank Cottage
Doonbank Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Doonbank Cottage
Doonbank Cottage
Twin room - with TV and DVD. Huge room!
Blue room - queen size bed
Kitchen with luxury double cooker and 6 rings
Living room with real fire
Bathroom - with jacuzzi bath and luxury shower
River Doon
Woodland
River Doon
Woodland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ayr, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dongerry5
Supply, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Better than we could have wished for.”
Reviewed 5 October 2010 for a stay in September 2010

We have stayed in a few self-catering cottages in England over the last few years, but Doonbank certainly gave us more value for for our money than experienced in the past. For a golfer, the location is ideal. Alloway is a treasure - check out the local post office shop. It has many goodies. The Brig O Doon restaurant is certainly worth a dinner or two. For those of you who think a thatched-roof cottage is usually cramped, try out Doonbank. The rooms are very spacious and the beds are comfortable. On a cold evening, the lounge fireplace is perfect. By the way, Susan and Chris are wonderful about ensuring your stay is as enjoyable as possible. You won't be dissapointed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charnick0
Nottingham, England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with loads to do”
Reviewed 28 August 2010 for a stay in May 2010

We stayed here for half-term with two twelve year old girls(very fussy!) and our 14 year old son, and all of us loved it. There was so much space to explore and a great lawn area for games and sunbathing. I would echo all that has been said about the comfort and quality of the cottage which feels like a home from home rather than your average holiday cottage. In addition to the trips mentioned, we really liked Troon which has a lovely beach and great fish and chips in the harbour. We'd love to go again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceHolid...
Stoke on Trent
2 reviews
“A Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed 11 August 2010 for a stay in July 2010

The cottage and its beautiful setting easily get a 10 out of 10! We stayed there for our honeymoon and could not have made a better choice. The vast grounds were beautifully stocked with lots of shrubs, plants and trees. It was like being in your own private forest. We had a great time exploring the countryside which stretched out from the bottom of the garden and along the River Doon. Very tranquil and picturesque.

Every room was decorated beautifully and we really enjoyed the log fire.

The owners left us a bottle of champagne as they knew we were on our honeymoon. Very kind indeed and much appreciated.

I will recommend this cottage to all my family and friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FatsoOggl...
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I could never get bored of coming here. It is such a beautiful place.”
Reviewed 22 June 2010 for a stay in May 2010

Holidaying with adolescent boys always fills me with trepidation. We had a wonderful week. The cottage was perfect. We breakfasted outside looking down over the river every morning and sat out on the lawn enjoying our barbeque supper every evening. To have so much land with a rented cottage was incredible. The acres of woodland, with the river at the bottom, provided the opportunity to roam or stroll as we wished and for the more sedentary a beautiful garden to just sit and read in.

The accomodation was excellent, not a trace of dog anywhere! There are 3 pleasant , well furnished bedrooms and very comfortable beds. Televisions, freeview and dvd players in the twin bedroom and sitting room meant companionable, conflict free veging in front of the television was easily available when required. The sitting room was spacious and comfortable, the kitchen well equipped and the dining room a pleasure to eat in. There is a study full of leaflets and suggestions of what to do.

We found lots to do in the area that left everybody happy and content. We went to the Turnberry Hotel where everyone played pitch and put whilst I had the most delicious afternoon tea. From there some of us graduated later in the week to playing 18 holes at Ayr GOlf Centre whilst others just enjoyed the driving range. We went on a very successful fishing trip with Mark McGrindle to Ailsa Craig where everybody managed to catch their supper and admire the beautiful island and watch the puffins and seals. There are so many wonderful walks here and beautiful beaches. 2 of my favouriteswere from Culzean Bay along the beach and up to Culzean Castle and along the beach at Dunure, a tiny yachting harbour with pub, cafe and ice cream shop, ruined castle and lovely beach walk.

I could never get bored of coming here. It is such a beautiful place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yettiSell...
Sellindge
1 review
“The most amazing retreat a pure delight.”
Reviewed 19 June 2010 for a stay in June 2010

Doonbank Cottage was the most delightful find. The cottage is beautiful and we felt immediately at home here. It's the most dog friendly holiday cottage and the owners are so helpful and friendly. The walks around the cottage alone are amazing and the surrounding area was beautiful. Doonbank cottage has everything that you could possibly want for a relaxing or adventurous break and we can't wait to return again one day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$196
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing