We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another perfect stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
View from The Cow Shed living room across Glen Garry
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from The Cow Shed living room across Glen Garry
Cow Shed livingroom Cow Shed Bedroom with super kingsize or twin beds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
View from The Cow Shed living room across Glen Garry
Cow Shed livingroom
Cow Shed Bedroom with super kingsize or twin beds
Cow Shed Entrance & courtyard
Cow Shed kitchen
Spacious bedroom (super kingsize or twin) at the rear
The wood burner takes logs & coal
Open plan livingroom / kitchen
Cow Shed wood buring stove
Cow Shed bathroom with modern electric shower
Cow Shed decking, ideal for taking in the fabulous sunsets
Cow Shed bedroom
Cow Shed dining
Morning river mist seen from The Cow Shed
A frosty view from the Cow Shed looking north up the glen
Aerial shot - The Cow Shed is in the building group just left & below centre
Summit rocks on Ben y Vrackie, above Pitlochry
View of Glen Garry (our glen) on a walk out from The Cow Shed
Lettoch Cottages
Beinn A' Ghlo - our local munro
Beinn a' Ghlo - our nearest munro is 10 minutes drive away
Lettoch is almost dead centre of the shot, taken from the other side of Glen Garry
Morning mist. Shot taken from the front door looking south.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Alison K
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another perfect stay!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

What can I add that hasn't been said before?! Spotlessly clean, beautifully presented, very well equipped and with great views, this is the perfect self catering holiday destination. Steve and Kirsty are a really lovely couple whose presence added to our holiday experience. They made us feel like old friends rather than guests who only pop up once a year.

There are walks from the door and several Munros within a 10 minute drive. We stayed for two weeks and found a different route for every day of our stay. Blair Athol Castle was an enjoyable day out and a visit to Edradour distillery and the Highland Chocolatier were also highlights for rainy days.

We loved our time in Cowshed 1 and felt privileged to be amongst the first people to see Cowshed 2 finished. Steve has done an outstanding job of renovating it and with all Kirsty's touches at the end this is another superb holiday let. We'll see you next year, looking forward to it already!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped kitchen, comfortable beds, welcome pack, owners with a good sense of humour
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itsmrb
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Udderly Brilliant”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Sorry for the pun but given the properties name I couldn't resist. Steve and Kirsty have done a great job in creating a wonderful space in which to melt away all the stresses of modern life. The furniture and fittings are of a very high standard and they have thought of everything you could need for a relaxing stay right down to the lovely 'welcome pack' on arrival. I could write a much longer review about all the things we did while we were at the cow shed but I wanted to keep this about the property itself and the hosts. My wife and I are always championing Scotland as a world class holiday destination these days and its places like the cow shed which are setting the bar very high for every one else. We might not always have the weather but we more than make up for it in other areas. One look at the views from the cow shed balcony and I think you'll find it hard to argue. Anyway a very warm welcome awaits and we certainly hope to enjoy it again ourselves. Thanks again for making it a special stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2014
Thank you Alan for your very kind comments. Kirsty & I certainly enjoyed you being here. Please do come back sometime. It would be great to see you & Hilary again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padden73
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect easter weekend”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 4 night Thursday to Monday, over the Easter weekend.

From initial booking and reading reviews we were fairly confident we had stumbled across an excellent choice.

Steve emailed us a few days out to confirm all our arrangements and we felt very at ease. We got an email on the Thursday to let us know the cow shed was ready when we were hours before our agreed check-in, unfortunately we weren't as organised.

We arrived around 1600 on Thursday afternoon and were greeted by Steve. He showed us around, explained how everything worked and then left us to it, but told us where we could reach him.

We had four evenings, three full days of pure relaxation. I think it's fair to say, neither of us are big Munro bangers, happy to do an easy walk for 1-1.5 hours. We day tripped into the various towns and villages and just relaxed. So you really don't need to be looking for an active holiday.

We cooked each evening, flat fully kitted out, drank a lot of wine on the decking, enjoyed the fresh bread, bagels, eggs and tiffins provided. And best of all we asked for some dry weather. We got the best weather we have had in Scotland this year, we had sun. That has to be down to Steve and Kirsty.

We saw both our hosts on regular occasions in passing, we chatted, but they also left you to your own devices.

Perfect. We will be back.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2014
Lorna, we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Cow Shed. It was great having you around. If you do decide to come back come & try out Cow Shed 2 which has been a labour of love for me over the winter and is almost ready for letting and will be (we hope) to the same standards. All the best, Kirsty & Steve.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nomsaseee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodation with knock-out views!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We enjoyed a stay at the Cow Shed over a cold but beautifully crisp and sunny January weekend and absolutely loved the place, the setting & the peace and quiet. At the Cow Shed you have both the impression of staying on a remote mountain and the proximity of all the wonderful amenities in Pitlochry, a fairly perfect setting and the huge window on the view reminds you of it throughout your stay. We found ourselves accidently having long lie ins, in the luxurious and massive super king sized bed. Kirsty and Steve are fantastic hosts and made us feel really welcome - all in all a really memorable and well rested way to start 2014!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The mind blowing views
Liked least: Our stay was too short!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommend - we'll be back.”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Cowshed for a week over New Year and we couldn't have picked a better place to get away from it all. A 10 minute drive from Pitlochry, The Cowshed was easy to get to and came with beautiful views of the Cairngorms. Straight away we were made to feel at home; with eggs, milk and bread on arrival and everything needed for a week away was already supplied (tea, coffee, shower gel, kitchen roll etc). The place is well furnished (..very comfy bed..) and the wood burning stove is a great feature! Also, a big thank you to the owners (Steve & Kirsty - who live next door) who were extremely accommodating and friendly. We're hoping to return in the summer to make the most of the decking (..and barbecue) outside and explore the beautiful surroundings.

Stuart & El

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing