We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquility”
other travellers have booked this property
Looking at the front of Squirrel Cottage from the garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking at the front of Squirrel Cottage from the garden.
Red Squirrels are frequent visitors to the squirrel feeders around Squirrel Cottage. Squirrel Cottage living room with a wood pellet fire for instant heat.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Looking at the front of Squirrel Cottage from the garden.
Red Squirrels are frequent visitors to the squirrel feeders around Squirrel Cottage.
Squirrel Cottage living room with a wood pellet fire for instant heat.
The bedroom is large and the bed can be made up as a kingsize double or twin beds.
Squirrel Cottage kitchen is well equiped with all the washing powders and soaps provided.
The large sunroom has windows on three sides, two relaxing chairs, a large table, various puzzles ..
One of several bird feeders aroung Squirrel Cottage. Here long Tailed Tits enjoying the peanuts.
Roe deer are seen in and around Squirrel Cottage. More often late winter and early spring.
A young red squirrel squeezing in to get black sunflower seeds, outside Squirrel Cottage bedroom.
Winter at Squirrel Cottage, with full central heating and insulation its is a good time of the year
Autumn at Squirrel Cottage, this photo was taken mid October.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Julia Y
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tranquility”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have enjoyed numerous visits to delightful Squirrel Cottage where amazing wildlife abounds right outside your window ! It is the perfect getaway if you seek a peaceful , battery - recharging break as we do... or are after a more energetic holiday ( there is a wide array of things to do in the beautiful surrounding area.) The cottage is equipped with every possible comfort and , if eating out is your pleasure , there are many possibilities both locally and a little further afield . In addition , James and Kathleen make the perfect hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2013
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Squirrel Cottage. Thank you for sharing your experinces on Trip Advisor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
687lily
Borders, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I went up to Squirrel Cottage last month. We were given a warm welcome and showed around the cottage. The cottage was brilliant and Kathleen and James had thought of everything. This was better than a 5* hotel. There was one way glass in the bedroom which allowed us to watch the squirrels and my hubby loved the woodpeckers. We did pull ourselves away and saw some of the local sights and sampled the local foods although that could be done at the cottage as a fish van pulled up one day and we bought fish etc and it was all delicious. This was a very relaxing stay and we wished we could have stayed longer. Our friends have now booked up for next year and we have more following. There is also free internet connection so we were able to keep in touch back home at a time we really had to. We will also return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Undisturbed peacefulness
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your comments on Trip Adviser. Best wishes James and Kathleen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Getaway Location”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Squirrel Cottage. The cottage was incredibly well equipped and comfortable. We loved watching the wildlife and saw red squirrels and a variety of birds every day. The one way glass in the bedroom enabled us to see the birds feeding really close as they could not see us watching them. The local area is beautiful with lots to do. We could not find any fault with the cottage at all except perhaps that it was hard to tear yourself away from the wildlife to go sightseeing each day!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wildlife in Garden
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your stay at Squirrel Cottage on Trip Adviser. Best wishes James and Kathleen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerryedmo...
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic cottage in excellent location”
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Having booked this cottage we thought that it would be ideal and we were not disappointed. The cottage was exceptionally well-equipped with many additional touches and the bonus of a variety of wildlife in the garden. Killiecrankie is a perfect location for visiting the Cairngorms and surrounding areas. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arriving
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2013
Thank you very much for staying at Squirrel Cottage and also for your review on Trip Adviser. Best wishes James and Kathleen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob V
Voorschoten
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2017
Thank you Rob for taking the time to giving your feed back in Dutch - you are the first to give us feedback in another language - using Google translate, we were able to understand what you had to say - thank you very much. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing