We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“ALL YOU COULD WISH FOR”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kirktoun Cottage

Gorgeous country cottage with lovely open views across fields and woodland
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gorgeous country cottage with lovely open views across fields and woodland
Bright sitting room with stunning views from picture window Cosy open fire in sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Gorgeous country cottage with lovely open views across fields and woodland
Bright sitting room with stunning views from picture window
Cosy open fire in sitting room
Fresh twin room
Twin room
Beautiful double room
Fresh double room
View from sitting room window across the fields to Duffus
Duffus Castle - great place to explore with the children or walk your dog
Findhorn Bay - beautiful
Covesea - stunning sandy beach only 5 minutes drive from Kirktoun
Kirktoun in the sunshine
Snowdrops signal Spring time at Duffus Estate
Misty morning over fields at Duffus
Duffus House - mansion house of Duffus Estate with carpet of daffodils in Spring
Burghead Bay - yet another stunning local beach just waiting to be explored
Garden from front door
Some local goodies that are part of the welcome basket
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah B
Dorking
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“ALL YOU COULD WISH FOR”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Following our visit in February we were thrilled to be able to stay in Kirktoun agin this week. As before it was beautifully clean and perfectly equipped andfurnished. The welcome pack was devoured very quickly and we all had a wonderful time. We are coming back again next year - see you in February, Caroline, and thank you again for everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and welcome pack.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2015
Hello, thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. It is very much appreciated. I am so pleased you enjoyed the welcome basket. I try to make the items as local and enjoyable as I can! I look forward to welcoming you back again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosie4che...
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage with beautiful views”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here for the bank holiday weekend, so we could visit my nieces
who all live nearby. The welcome basket with a selection of local food & drink was a nice touch and all the rooms were clean & tastefully decorated.

Beautiful scenery out of almost every window you looked out of and with everything you would need for a very comfortable stay.

We hope to come back and stay for a longer time next year and so hope we get to meet you then Caroline! (the very lovely, helpful owner)
Best wishes, Rosie & Simon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views of the cows from the kitchen!
Liked least: Nothing it was perfect for us
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2015
Thank you for taking time to write us a review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Kirktoun Cottage. I am also sorry we didn't get to meet in person. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukeswest...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My wife and myself stayed in this lovely cottage for 4 days with our dog. We had just a few days to visit the local area so we didn't explore as much as we wanted buy there's some great places around. When we got there, the owners had supplied some local basics, bread, jam, eggs and a lovely bottle of ale. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, far bigger than we needed for the 3 of us, it would easily cope with a family of 4. The open log fire was really nice to have, added a cosy touch. The only slight down side was that the shower was very weak, but it did the job! The village of Duffus we didn't look around too much but we had some nice walks around the estate and local paths.
There's a pub/restaurant 100 yards down the road which looked nice. The close by coastal village, Hopeman had a couple of takeaways, we tried the chippy which was pretty good.
We would certainly recommend a trip further along to Findhorn, even on a windy, grey day it was full of charm, with a number of small places to eat in and a large, flat beach for the dog/kids.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to visit again to explore the area further. Thanks to Caroline and Ed for making the stay a good one!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2015
Hi, thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. It is very much appreciated. I am really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Kirktoun Cottage and that you managed to explore some of the beautiful surrounding area here in Moray. I am sorry to hear you felt the shower was a bit weak. We will certainly take a look at this as we do not usually have problems with it. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Kirktoun in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B
Dorking
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 6 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

So pleased to have found this lovely cottage (& fantastic owners!). I agree with first review - Kirktoun was warm, comfortable, very clean & fresh, plentiful towels, comfortable beds. Thoughtfully there was a basketful of seasoned logs for the open fire which gave a really cosy atmosphere. The views from the sitting room are super and the location (for my requirements) was simply perfect. So many lovely touches here but definitely the best was the thoughtful welcome pack - completely in line with booking comms with owner Caroline, who is simply super. Have already booked another visit later this year, and will also be back in 2016. Highly recommended - especially if you have family at Gordonstoun. Thank you Caroline.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We work hard to ensure our guests enjoy their stay and your kind comments are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kirktoun Cottage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kisilv02
Highland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely warm house”
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed in this house in a very cold period of weather. It was lovely and warm with central heating and nicely decorated. The owners had provided milk, eggs, bread and other welcome pack foods which made the welcome even more delightful. The house is spacious and has a large secure garden with a gate at the end leading to multiple woodland walks through Duffus estate and beyond. Would definately go there again. Thankyou to Caroline for making us feel very welcome and providing everything we needed for a comfortable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: warmth and spaciousness
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing