We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect rural hideaway”
other travellers have booked this property
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
The original 'Wester Marchhead' built circa 1800 Main room - so cosy!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
The original 'Wester Marchhead' built circa 1800
Main room - so cosy!
The view from The Bothy garden looking North
Lossiemouth West Beach - not another soul in sight!
Spring Rhododendron
Kitchenette
The bathroom
With shower
View from kitchenette into main room
The Bothy's stunning view of the Mosstowie Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
clairey39...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect rural hideaway”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Have just returned from a 4 night stay at this lovely Bothy which is ideally located 3 miles away from Elgin. The Bothy is really cosy and was everything I would expect 'my perfect rural retreat' to be, total peace and quiet and with amazing views. We were really lucky during our stay at the Bothy as Scotland was experiencing a mini-heatwave. The Bothy is situated in walking distance of a forest (forgot the name of it) and we spent a few hours walking in there.

We visited Lossiemouth beach and we enjoyed sitting on the beach. However, I was a bit disappointed that I was unable to get fish n chips to eat on the beach or buy a stick of rock. There did not appear to have any/many shops in Lossiemouth that you might expect at the seaside, however, I maybe basing this on my experience of visiting Western-Super-Mere in Somerset.

We did get to eat fish and chips from a nice chip shop in Elgin. Elgin has many of the high street names including supermarkets for holiday essentials. There is a large park in the centre of Elgin with a duck pond, it was nice to sit and eat an ice cream while watching the ducks. Elgin museum provides visitors to Scotland some insight into Scottish history with free entry into the museum. However, donations are welcome, we gave donations as I felt the museum experience was worth supporting.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such a detailed review for future guests to read so they are aware of what's available locally. I'm sorry you didn't get your stick of rock or fish and chips whilst on the beach at Lossiemouth but I'm relieved to hear you found some in Elgin! There's nothing quite like fish and chips by the seaside! It was lovely to meet you both and I hope that we will see you again in the future. Kindest regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squires86
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect convenient location and so peaceful”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We loved the "Bothy" and the peaceful ambience of the main room. Had all we could need and more even down to the egg cups for our breaky. I am a very light sleeper and have not slept through the night for years so was surprised to get 8 hours every night. Absolutely no noise at all. 5 minutes to town and around 20 to at least 2 seaside villages. A perfection location with so many fascinating locations within easy driving range. Hubby enjoyed multiple distilleries all within an easy commute.
Just a quick comment on parking and distance to walk to accommodation, we have had to walk further in all hotels we stayed so not a problem.
Thank you Fiona, we cannot speak highly enough of the "Bothy" and the privacy and location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambience, peace
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
I really appreciate you taking time out of your busy holiday schedule to write such a lovely review, thank you. I am thrilled that you enjoyed The Bothy and that it provided you with the peace and quiet you were hoping for. It was lovely to meet you both and I hope the rest of your holiday is a happy and relaxing one, safe journey home. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. Kindest regards, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D
2 reviews
“Hidden Gem at the bottom of the garden”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed here for a few nights with our dog and couldn't be happier. It was everything we could need and more. Fiona was so friendly and helpful, but also provided privacy. Hope to come again soon!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a lovely review. I am delighted that The Bothy exceeded your expectations and it was an absolute pleasure to meet you all. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward very much to welcoming you back in the future. With kindest regards, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark d
2 reviews
“Very comfortable, and private”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Fantastic place to stay for viewing the area.
Very comfortable and clean.
Off road parking.
All though the property is private and out off town you are only 5 to 10 mins away should you need anything.
Brilliant. A

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the property
Liked least: nothing everything was as expected
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely message for any prospective guests to read and for choosing to stay with us, it was great to meet you both. I hope I will be welcoming you back in the future. With kindest regards, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey r
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful haven”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I took my 4 year old daughter for a wee trip away (only live over an hour away). Love the fact it's so quiet and rural but your only 3 miles from Elgin. We spent a day in Lossiemouth at the beach which was gorgeous! The bothy has everything you could possibly need. It's so clean..cosy and homely. Fantastic garden that my daughter loved running about in plus chickens! My daughter loved the chickens! Fiona is so welcoming then leaves you too it. Would definitely stay again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! I am so pleased that your daughter enjoyed the garden and our chickens! It was great to meet you and your delightful daughter, we would be thrilled to welcome you both back. With kindest regards, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing