We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bothy. Elgin”
other travellers have booked this property
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
The original 'Wester Marchhead' built circa 1800 Main room - so cosy!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
The original 'Wester Marchhead' built circa 1800
Main room - so cosy!
The view from The Bothy garden looking North
Lossiemouth West Beach - not another soul in sight!
Spring Rhododendron
Kitchenette
The bathroom
With shower
View from kitchenette into main room
The Bothy's stunning view of the Mosstowie Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
William w
1 review
“Bothy. Elgin”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Can't praise the Bothy enough, facilities and location were perfect to explore surrounding areas. Bothy was cosy comfortable and relaxed owners have thought of everything to make their guests feel very welcome, home from home

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quaint
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
What a lovely review - thank you so much for taking the time to write it! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward very much to hopefully welcoming you back in the future. With kindest regards, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgBoy1972
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Here we are,back again at this wonderful place. Can't understand any of the negative comments, place is exactly as described,some folk seem to complain about anything. I managed the epic 35 ( not 65 yards) from the car no problem and I am not too nifty on my feet. Too far off the beaten track? FFS 3.5 miles to Elgin with all the facilities you need,not the Gobi desert! Forget the serial complainers, come and appreciate this beautiful spot,and if you (unlikely) have any issues TALK TO THE OWNERS rather than running away and giving a stupid review. We will be back again and again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again, it was lovely to see you both and thank you for taking the time to write another review. The best compliment of all is having returning guests. We look forward very much to welcoming you both in the future. With kindest regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottie37
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Too far off the beaten track for us”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We chose the Bothy because they accepted dogs and liked the pictures of the big garden. Five days before we went the lady emailed to say the dog had to be kept strictly on a lead at all times. If we had known that, we would never have booked this property. We had visions of sitting in the garden with our dog who is nine years old playing around with his ball. The nearest shops are four miles away mostly single track roads. There is barely any wi-fi and the signal on the TV kept going down (we had to keep rebooting it but eventually gave up). Our car had to be parked up the hill next to a tree quite a trek for carrying luggage up and down. Our car windscreen is now covered in sticky resin which we can't get off. It's a nice wee place as long as you don't want to do self catering, its fine for making tea and coffee. We met the owner who seemed really nice, but the place was not for us, it didn't deliver what we thought it would.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Dear Evelyn
Thank you for your comments and I am so sorry that you didn't enjoy your time with us. We have tried hard in our online description and photographs of the Bothy to reflect exactly, without embellishment, what it looks like, what is provided (including a 'kitchenette' where you can prepare 'a simple meal') and its situation in the countryside yet only a few miles from Elgin, a town that boasts 5 major supermarkets together with most other well known high street brands, restaurants, pubs and so forth. We believe it is the peace and quiet that makes the Bothy special and is the main attraction for most of our guests hence the focus of our online description. However, clearly you were disappointed and for that I apologize. I am also sorry to hear that your expectations for the dog were not what you had envisaged and I can quite see that my message regarding keeping him on the lead was a disappointment for you. Well behaved and controlled dogs are of course welcome to enjoy the Bothy garden and I only wish we'd had the opportunity to discuss the situation while you were here. Similarly, I would have welcomed you raising your other concerns while you were with us so that a solution could have been found; we do not advertise wifi availability as there is none, the television reception sometimes requires adjustment and I would happily have cleaned and/or found another parking spot for your car. I am genuinely grateful for your honesty in letting me know why you were unhappy and again offer a sincere apology that we didn't live up to your expectations. Best wishes, Fiona.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jclarklon...
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful Scottish escape”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in March 2016

For those seeking a peaceful esacpe to the beautiful Scottish countryside, this place is perfect. The Bothy is very comfortable and incredibly peaceful, located in its own spot on the grounds a short walk from the main house through the lovely garden. Fiona was an excellent host who obviously wanted to ensure we enjoyed our stay. We are looking forward to visiting again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy bed!
Liked least: Having to go home at the end of our holiday
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments about The Bothy, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write a review. We look forward very much to welcoming you all back! Kindest regards, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Bothy is comfortable and clean but you are asked to park under a sycamore tree 65 yards from the Bothy.
Being a 74 year old it wasn't easy to carry my luggage and shopping down the slope to the Bothy. Good job it wasn't raining at the time!
The following morning my car was covered in sycamore resin which is awful to remove!
Why isn't the lane extended down to the Bothy, there is plenty of room to do so?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The shower worked.
Liked least: Tv reception poor and no freeview. Tv set very old model. No wiFi.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
To any future guests who may be reading this review, I am truly disappointed that Peter didn't bring this to my attention while he was staying with us as we could have done something about it at the time. May I ask you to read the previous 32 reviews from some very happy guests! With kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing