We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family quiet scenic property”
other travellers have booked this property
Old Duffus Farmhouse - giving you spectacular views of Duffus Castle which is right on your doorstep
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Duffus Farmhouse - giving you spectacular views of Duffus Castle which is right on your doorstep
Generous grassed, enclosed garden perfect for BBQs and games on those long summer evenings. View of Duffus Castle from the garden - just 1 field away - ideal for those early morning walks!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Old Duffus Farmhouse - giving you spectacular views of Duffus Castle which is right on your doorstep
Generous grassed, enclosed garden perfect for BBQs and games on those long summer evenings.
View of Duffus Castle from the garden - just 1 field away - ideal for those early morning walks!
Main double with stunning castle view
Main double
View of castle from main double room
Spacious 2nd double room
2nd double room
The comfortable and bright south facing living room which overlooks the Castle
Large farmhouse kitchen. Ideal for long leisurely meals around the table
Large farmhouse kitchen
Ideal room for those long nights sat around the kitchen table with friends family
Twin room 1is full of character and again has that all important castle view
Twin room 1
Castle view from twin room 1
Cosy twin room 2 with castle view
Spacious hall
Spacious yet cosy living room. Wood burning stove and open views across to the castle.
Living room
Castle view for your evening glass of wine!
From the ruins of the Castle
Findhorn Bay - the place to take boat trips to see the famous dolphins of the Moray Firth
Stunning endless sandy beach at Lossiemouth
Moray Golf Course - Two classic links courses to test your skills
Breathtaking Randolph's Leap - great spot for picnics
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Lianne C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect family quiet scenic property”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Located beautifully by the castle providing lovely scenery. A great family property for getting all the family together, pet orientated with great local walks. Within a short drive from Elgin which has all needed amenities. Lovely spacious rooms, bathrooms and everything to make a home from home stay. Very well equipped property with all your home comforts. We will visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Hi, thanks so much for writing us a lovely review. We do try hard to make the property a 'home from home', We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caoimhe73
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very well equipped holiday accommodation with an amazing view!”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a week here and have to say that this farmhouse offers very good family accommodation for larger groups. Easily the most well equipped house I think I've ever stayed in. Welcome pack was a really nice touch and much appreciated. Bed linen and towels were spotless and house was in good order throughout.
Only two things which probably need a mention.

The first is that the kitchen could do with a good clean as the inside of the drawers, the utensils and the oven were a bit dirty and sticky when we arrived. The top oven wasn't working either which wasn't a big deal but is handy when you're cooking for larger numbers.

The second is our own fault as we didn't account for the distance we would be from RAF Lossiemouth,and although the aircraft are amazing to see, our older Labrador didn't share our enthusiasm. Probably not a good place to stay if you have a nervous dog.

All in all a great stay and would definitely recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2017
Thanks so much for your review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay. I am mortified that you found items in the kitchen sticky etc - this should definitely not happen and will certainly be brought up with our housekeeping team. I am really sorry about that as we do pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our properties. Thank you also for letting us know about the top oven - we only know things like that need attending to if guests let us know. We can now look to get it fixed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missmouse...
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning location”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is a wonderful farmhouse in an amazing location. It overlooks Old Duffus Castle which is a great place to explore with children and dogs.
The house was clean and tidy with everything you could need for a short stay. It could do with some updating but more than adequate with plenty of space.
There is a large secure garden which is flat so great for games and for keeping the dogs safe.
The bed in the main double overlooking the castle had a very very squeaky mattress which made sleep difficult. However the second double was excellent. At night there is not a sound to be heard.
Overall a very relaxing and enjoyable stay at Old Duffus.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2017
Hi, thanks so much for leaving us a review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay, however I'm sorry you felt the house needed some updating. We always pick several areas to improve every winter and this year we repainted the porch (inside and out), the entire hall and corridor (upstairs and down) as well as the stairwell. We also put in new carpets along the entrance corridor as well as on the stairs and upper hallway and also redecorated the playroom and put in new carpet and curtains. I also apologise that you found a mattress very squeaky. We certainly always work hard to try and ensure all our guests have a good nights sleep and I'm sorry you didn't on this occasion. .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Jun 2017
Hello, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. I'm so pleased you all enjoyed your stay. The house really lends itself towards family holidays. We'd be delighted to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 May 2017
Hi there, I'm really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in Old Duffus. We'd be delighted to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing