We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property
Old Duffus Farmhouse - giving you spectacular views of Duffus Castle which is right on your doorstep
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Duffus Farmhouse - giving you spectacular views of Duffus Castle which is right on your doorstep
Generous grassed, enclosed garden perfect for BBQs and games on those long summer evenings. View of Duffus Castle from the garden - just 1 field away - ideal for those early morning walks!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Old Duffus Farmhouse - giving you spectacular views of Duffus Castle which is right on your doorstep
Generous grassed, enclosed garden perfect for BBQs and games on those long summer evenings.
View of Duffus Castle from the garden - just 1 field away - ideal for those early morning walks!
Main double with stunning castle view
Main double
View of castle from main double room
Spacious 2nd double room
2nd double room
The comfortable and bright south facing living room which overlooks the Castle
Large farmhouse kitchen. Ideal for long leisurely meals around the table
Large farmhouse kitchen
Ideal room for those long nights sat around the kitchen table with friends family
Twin room 1is full of character and again has that all important castle view
Twin room 1
Castle view from twin room 1
Cosy twin room 2 with castle view
Spacious hall
Spacious yet cosy living room. Wood burning stove and open views across to the castle.
Living room
Castle view for your evening glass of wine!
From the ruins of the Castle
Findhorn Bay - the place to take boat trips to see the famous dolphins of the Moray Firth
Stunning endless sandy beach at Lossiemouth
Moray Golf Course - Two classic links courses to test your skills
Breathtaking Randolph's Leap - great spot for picnics
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
jayne s
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

After a long journey up having stopped at several places on our way up it was such a welcome when we got to our lovely cosy farmhouse. The welcome basket was so useful. The farmhouse has the most fantastic view of Duffus Castle! The house has everything you would need very well equipped we didn't use the fires as it was warm enough great family sized kitchen all in all 10/10. We hope to be back soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked everything couldn't pick one particular thing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
Hi, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It really is a unique property with those glorious views of Duffus Castle. We would be delighted to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavieTrav...
1 review
“Quiet, Spacious, Quirky”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Great place to stay, with fantastic outlook to Duffus Castle. Rooms were spacious (some quite quirky, biggest shower room I've ever seen) and comfortable. The house is a little dated inside but that's a minor thing and certainly didn't spoil our enjoyment of the place. Hope to return next summer.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Hi, many thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Old Duffus Farmhouse does indeed have fantastic views over to Duffus Castle.

I'm really sorry you felt the house was a little dated. Several of the rooms had in fact been freshly painted and had new carpets and new, made to measure lined curtains fitted earlier this year. We have an ongoing programme of improvements for all our properties. We do appreciate your feedback, and hopefully, if you come again, you'll be able to see further improvements in the property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Hi, thanks so much for leaving us a review. I'm so please to hear you had such an enjoyable family holiday. It makes all the hard work worthwhile. Old Duffus Farmhouse is indeed a very special property with the ruins of Duffus Castle just outside! We will be delighted to welcome you all back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Titus K
Terschuur, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect location with perfect views”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We were really really happy to have stayed here. Very close to Elgin, very spacious and with a perfect look at Duffus Castle. Of course a little sunshine added to the experience. Will very very likely stay here again if I ever need to be in Elgin for a few days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the available space
Liked least: The waterpressure in the shower
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2016
Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Old Duffus Farmhouse. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Duffus Estate. The farmhouse is indeed perfectly located, just a 100m or so away from Duffus Castle, giving it unrivalled views. We would be delighted to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dougie G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb location - highly recommended”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a really enjoyable weekend break at the Old Duffus Farmhouse. The accommodation was excellent and the boys just loved visiting/playing at the castle each day - welcome basket was greatly appreciated also. There's loads to do in the area and weather was kind also which was a bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property & location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2015
Hi, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. I am really pleased you all had such a lovely break at Old Duffus. It is indeed a great property for families. Children (as well as adults alike!) always enjoy exploring the ruins of Duffus Castle immediately in front of the farmhouse.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing