We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place for a group”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pinewood

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Alex S
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for a group”
Reviewed 2 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Stayed here with a group of friends and it was overall an excellent place to stay.

There is loads of cupboard + fridge/freezer space so you can stock up and prevent too many trips out to the shop which is about 30 mins away. WiFi speed is nice and quick so we could watch Netflix etc. without any issues.

There's plenty of space so you can get away from people if you need to, all the rooms are very spacious and the beds were comfortable.

Kitchen is well equipped if/when you're going to be cooking, there is a large table in the kitchen and a full dining room.

Only a few bits to mention on the negative side; the sofas are pretty aged and somewhat uncomfortable in places, the water pressure was pretty low in the shower and there was nowhere near enough light over by the oven/hob area!

Location isn't too near shops/attractions, we managed to do okay driving out each day but expect perhaps a few hours of driving each day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie...
stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing break”
Reviewed 1 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Just returned home from a week at pinewood and it has been absolutely fabulous. The house is brilliant four large bedrooms, two bathrooms ome with bath, one with shower, an amazing sized kitchen which has so much provided (dishwasher, washer, dryer, toaster, microwave) everything we needed to make fabulous food during our stay as well as a little baking. The house was clean and towels provided. Their was sat tv, dvd player and a selection of books. The setting is so tranquil looking out onto the caledonian canal and across to ben nevis on a clearer day. The house was a home immediately, at no point did we feel anything but comfy. Their is also an iron, hoover and even a hairdryer. The dining room was fabulous for an evening meal looking out at the views and a second seating area in the kitchen was handy for quick breakfasts. There is plent of space outside for games and a lovely seating area to the side if your lucky enough to get the sunshine.
The area was lovely, very peaceful and not busy but at the same time only a 10 minute journey into spean bridge or 20 minutes into fort william. Their are some amazing little walking trails to explore close by as well as nice walks along the canal watching the boats.

Overall very impressed with pinewood and would like to say thank you to the owners for such a beautiful holiday, we will definately be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CynthiaM2...
2 reviews
“Pinewood”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Enjoyed our stay at Pinewood. Waking up to the beautiful views every morning. Had a few problems which were soon sorted by the owners. Would have liked an enclosed back garden for the dog he just wanted to run to the canal most of the time. Otherwise we had a good stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franzmuel...
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Should keep it a secret.”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We should keep it a secret, but Ian and Anita the marvelous people who run that place deserve better.
"Pinewood" is a house which provides you with four bed rooms,a spacious kitchen ,dining room, two bathrooms, and a snug sitting room, with a fire place.
Its an excellent base for exploring a large part of the highlands,but if you are just looking for some piece and quiet this is the right place to go as well. The Caledonian Canal runs nearby, but appears like a small lake here. And best of all you can bring your dog with you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinytini7...
Salzburg, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I could stay here forever”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

It's been my 5th visit and I hope there are many more to come.
Pinewood is the perfect location for your holiday - it's a very spacious and comfortable house with stunning views to Ben Nevis and the Caledonian Canal/Loch Lochy and the perfect base for exploring the Highlands. After our trips in all four directions we could relax and enjoy the evenings in front of the fireplace or take a walk to the nearby Pepper Pot Lighthouse.
Anita and Iain (the owners) are very kind and I'm already looking forward to see them and beautiful Pinewood again next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2017
It was lovely to see you again and am already looking forward to your return next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing