We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 186)
Filter reviews
1 186 results
Traveller rating
260
346
300
148
132
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
346
300
148
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure facilities steam room and sauna swimming pool ben nevis the main hotel db b buffet breakfast bar menu bit dated public areas plenty of parking one night stay enjoyable stay couple of nights town centre porridge tea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 1 186 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights here whilst travelling around Fort William and took a package to include meals. Hotel has been refurbished inside and out with pleasant restaurant, bar and leisure facilities. Strict 3pm check in time. Our room was a classic double which was rather small, we were expecting a bigger room due to length of stay and package. The hotel mainly caters for large coach parties so they do not have the same personal touch as a smaller establishment. Meals pleasant but nicer options outside the hotel. Take ear plugs as thin walls and by roadside so we were woken up several times. A nice hotel with great location, convenient for walks round Ben and Glen Nevis.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LizWordley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

At the Ben Nevis Hotel and Leisure Club we welcome a variety of guests including coach parties, weddings and charity events to name but a few. We strongly believe in ensuring that all guests receive the service they expect when having a break away with us either for leisure or business purposes and we have worked hard to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is appreciated and will form part of our regular reviews and staff training going forward.

As you have noticed, we are currently in the process of completing the painting of the outside of our hotel, thereafter we will be commencing with the next phase of our refurbishment programme which will include the complete refurbishment of a number of our rooms.

We have a number of different room types available including classic, superior, as well as mountain view superior which are offered at different rates depending on your stay. For the best available rates please do not hesitate to contact our reception team directly and they will be more than happy to assist you further for any future stays you may have planned with us.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay as we welcome all forms of feedback.

With kind regards

Andrew Liddle


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Really good hotel for location to the area. Staff very good and seem to work hard. Room was nice and views very good. Food good but not much choice in the restaurant. Leisure facilities superb. Would certainly stay here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Bassman650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a lovely review of your recent stay with us.

We take great pride in ensuring that our staff provide a first class service to our guests at all times and your kind words have been passed on to all departments.

Our restaurant menu is changed on a daily basis however please be assured that your comments have been passed to our Head Chef for his information as we welcome all forms of feedback.

We do hope that you will be able to visit us again in the near future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards

Andrew Liddle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Luckily we only had 1 night at this hotel, the room was dreadful overlooking the roof of the pool, the fans were on all night and has got to be the worst hotel we have ever stayed in, breakfast was inedible with the cheapest of food. To top it off I left my jumper at breakfast and when I phoned to ask the hotel to post it to me I was advised they had no liability and it had not been handed in. We will not be returning to this hotel.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank Wendy R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We welcome all forms of feedback as this allows us to identify any areas that require improvement.

I was disappointed that you found our breakfast inedible as this is not normally something that is brought to our attention. As you are aware, we offer a full cooked Scottish breakfast offering a wide variety of items and we also have a continental option available.

With regards to your lost jumper please be assured that our hotel policy is to post any items back to our guests when found.

If you could however possibly email us directly at bennevismanager@strathmorehotels.com with details of your booking and further details of any issues you experienced during your stay we will be happy to look into your concerns further and provide you with a full response.

With kind regards

Andrew Liddle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

The pool are was simple but nice and clean, the Finnish sauna was clean. The staff was very friendly and polite. The room, especially the carpet, were strongly outworn and also unhygienic (stains on the carpet). The hotel on the outskirts of Fort William - it takes a 20-minute walk to the city centre - doesn't give you value for money.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GsPB1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

As part of our on-going refurbishment plan I would like to advise that we are currently in the process of planning the next phase of bedroom refits. This will include new bathrooms, beds and furniture, as well fitting new carpets in a number of rooms throughout the hotel. Please be assured that your comments have been taken on-board and will form part of this review.

It was a pleasure to read your kind words regarding our staff and your comments have since been passed on to all departments.

We do hope that you will be able to stay with us again in the near future.

With kind regards

Andrew Liddle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Stayed for two nights with sole intention of climbing Ben Nevis.

+ve
View of BN from our room (511)
Staff very friendly and helpful (but maybe the reception staff could look up and say hello as you came in)
Pool area very nice
Food, standard fare, but well done, and good service
Clean

-ve
Loo seat in our room and in one loo by restaurant needed attention (wobbly)
Thin walls between rooms, could hear noise through
Quite pricey, but that's because of location, I guess

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevisManager, Manager at Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We welcome your feedback and our maintenance team have ensured that the toilet seats you have referred to have been fitted accordingly.

Staff training is continually carried out within all departments so please be assured that your comments regarding our reception team have been taken on-board and they have since been reminded of the importance of greeting guests when entering the hotel.

I was happy to hear that you enjoyed using our leisure facilities and also enjoyed dining with us. Your kind comments have been passed to the relevant departments.

Thank you once again for reviewing your stay and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Andrew Liddle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews