We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveller rating
108
145
87
41
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
145
87
41
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews west end hotel room was clean traditional hotel bit dated an evening meal high street peaks challenge town centre single room ben nevis loch fort receptionist niggle drawers skye mallaig
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 416 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

When we are in Fort William (which is quite often) we eat at the West end hotel.
The food is always very good, and the staff are always friendly. The view from the restaurant across the loch is absolutely stunning.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billweir16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Muthu Fort Williams Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Bill,

Thank you very much for your review of our restaurant. We are thrilled to be your choice for your evening meal while in Fort William. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Chris V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Room was basic old in need of modernising , toilet door to close to the toilet tight space and terrible urine odour from toilet , sat night no sleep due to noise from local youths and traffic after 3am . Breakfast tasted basic ingredients and not quality , staff friendly but no interest in your day just no conversation handed keys back was not even asked if we enjoyed our stay there are more friendly places out there hope this can improve with new owners as would stay here again after some improvements .

Room tip: Book rooms at back perfect .
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrinadunstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, Manager at Muthu Fort Williams Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. As you stated the hotel is under new ownership so all of these guest comments are crucial to our update of the hotel. Refurbishments will be taking place in the near future and hopefully we will be welcoming you back to stay with us again. We are constantly trying to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible and I am sorry you didn't feel as if you were welcomed very well. Thank you for your feedback as this allows us to work on necessary improvements.

Regards,
Chris V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

We were in the Lochaber area for the day but had an overnight bag "just in case" so when we decided to stay in Fort William we found everything in the centre was booked except the West End. We had stayed in this hotel about 20 years ago and it was dated then and found it hadn't really changed in the interim. The whole hotel needs modernised which is a shame as apart from the décor it isn't too bad.

We were B&B so didn't have dinner in the hotel but while having a drink in the bar we saw the meals go by and they looked quite inviting. The breakfast itself was far better than we expected although the porridge was quite watery and a potato scone wouldn't have went amiss (it is Scotland!).

The rooms, bar, dining room, etc are all very clean and we found the staff very friendly.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank J0HNG67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Nice clean hotel, but oh boy what a welcome! No hello, no smiles just fill in these forms and here's your bill before we even asked about food etc. No wifi in room 17 television just about worked.

Same when we left no 'did you enjoy your stay' not even a smile or thank you when returning the key. the only saving grace was the food, nice selection, fair price. But I don't think I'll be staying there any time soon!!

Room tip: If you need wifi make sure your room has full coverage otherwise go elsewhere!
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Turpin1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Really no surprises here,expected the usual small single room with the same tired old furniture brown wardrobe small tv on small brown unit a bit of tartan either on the bed or curtains and no WiFi in rooms on the plus side the room was clean the shower was fine and the breakfast was quite nice and quickly served by the staff so would probably stay here again though probably wouldn’t be my first choice

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank staff66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews