We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 265)
Filter reviews
1 265 results
Traveller rating
292
502
294
114
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
502
294
114
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews food stop buffet style railway station bit dated central location high street haggis superior room reception staff public areas coach tour the jacobite steam train black pudding town centre enjoyable stay breakfast was excellent ben nevis
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 1 265 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2018

We had one of the renovated rooms on the top floor (4th). It had a great view of the church next door and it was a very comfortable room. Unfortunately, the elevator was non-operational, and the stair climbing got old. Walking up steps with sections of torn carpet was a tripping hazard and that was what was really annoying.

Staff was very pleasant and warm and the meals were very good to exceptional. The location of the hotel was ideal for visiting the town, waterfront and accessing trails.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GFP32999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandramanager2017, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay with us.

Your positive and kind words have been passed on to all departments for feedback.
It was a pleasure having you stay, and we do hope that you will be able to visit us again in the near future.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

We really enjoyed breakfast last time we were here so we thought we'd give dinner a try this time. The food was lovely. During the evening a singer was performing. Lovely voice - nice easy listening tunes. Fabulous hot and powerful shower. We got the last availible room which was, in all honesty, overpriced for what it was but we wanted somewhere to lay our heads and it did the job. Staff friendly and attentive.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandramanager2017, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay with us.

I was happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Your kind words have certainly been passed on to our staff for feedback, and I have also passed on your comments regarding your dinner to our Head Chef.

We do look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.



With kind regards

Ilona Malkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, lovely staff and breakfast hot the spot , it’s a yes from me , if ever I’m back up here again will book in again , or if your up these neck of the wood. Short walk to the town as well .

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JaffaCake87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandramanager2017, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Thank you for your review, all feedback is welcome be it positive or negative as it gives us room for improvement.

Thank you for your kind words regarding your breakfast, please be assured that these will be passed on.

Look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards

Angela Nolan
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

great hotel great staff great food the room was lovely comfy bed good shower and every thing lovely and clean would definatley use this hotel again the only down side was the lift it was in need of update

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NorfolkEnglandWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandramanager2017, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Good Evening

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

Your positive and kind words have been passed on to all departments.

It was a pleasure having you stay, and we do hope that you will be able to visit us again in the near future.

The elevator is also in the process of being fixed but will take some time as it has to be made to measure.

Kind Regards

Angela Nolan
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

The Hotel interior needs some TLC, old carpets, lifts still non functioning, ensuite bathroom really showing age. Having said that the rooms were clean, comfortable and well serviced.

Buffet style breakfast arrangement very old fashioned, but plentiful.

Room tip: keep on lower floors until life is fixed
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gary_TLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandramanager2017, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Good Evening

Thank you for your review, all feedback is welcome be it positive or negative as it gives us room for improvement.

With regards to the decor of the hotel we do have a refurbishment program that is ongoing in our bedrooms, with further works to be carried out in our public areas and stairs.

The elevator is also in the process of being fixed but will take some time as it has to be made to measure.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Angela Nolan
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews