We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great spot - cosy house”
Mill Cottage Fort William
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mill Cottage Fort William
Balcony overlooking Loch River views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
49 reviews
Mill Cottage Fort William
Balcony overlooking Loch
River views
Lounge
Kitchen
Dining Room
First Floor Shower Room & WC
Hallway (with Daffy)
Twin Debroom
Master Bedroom
Balcony
Glencoe
Winter Snow
River at Mill Cottage
Ben Nevis
Sunset at Mill Cottage
Autumn evening view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Alistair2...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great spot - cosy house”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
4
people found this review helpful

This is a large property that looks out on to the loch for some great views in the evening and morning as the mist clears over the water. We found everything to be in good order. This house has great heating throughout, I don't think you'd ever get cold.
Only one request - please can you supply a cafetiere :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snickets
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location and lots of room.”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This holiday property is large, comfortable, well equipped and in an amazing position. Within easy reach of many highland sights and right on the loch side with waterfalls at the bottom of the drive, you cannot fault the location. There are walks from the door and we all enjoyed the visits from the pine marten in the garden. The house was clean on our arrival and there is enough crockery, cutlery and cookin utensils. If that's what you are looking for at a reasonable price, then that's fine. However, the decor is very tired inside - this is not a luxury style home. When were were there the garden was very boggy meaning we couldn't spend a great deal of time out there. I understand that the owner ( who is very friendly and helpful ) is planning some updating this winter, so we will be interested to see the improvements.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the owner
Liked least: The tired decor.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkeStew...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and terrific value for money”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for easy access to Glencoe, the hills around Glen Nevis and what lies over the water on the Corran Ferry, Mill Cottage is spot on. There were nine of us and we had bags of room and enough facilities for cooking, washing and general slobbing out, in-between trips up the hills and out on the bikes. The decor is not in the first flush of youth but everywhere was clean, the kitchen is well equipped and there was plenty of hot water for showers. Pete was on the end of the phone or email for any questions we had and all the admin type stuff was a piece of cake. Great place.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2015
Hi Mark,
Thank you for taking the time to review Mill Cottage, I knew you guys would have a great time and we'd love to see you back. If you've ever fancied snowboarding or skiing Mill Cottage is a different experience in the winter especially when it snows and we are only just 15 mins from both ski resorts. Have a good summer and don't forget drop me a line if you're up for it with a few mates..all the best Pete.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b99n
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location, good cottage for groups”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stayed for a week with a group of friends to walk, cycle, climb and explore the area. Mill Cottage was spotless on arrival and perfect us with comfortable accomodation and plenty of space for all our kit, having use of the garage was great for our bikes. The kitchen was well equipped and the boiler room was most useful for drying wet clothing (weather was a bit hit and miss!).

The property is well used and some of the decoration is less than perfect however I feel this added to the quirky charm. If the main focus of your holiday is staying in a pristine property in showhome condition Mill Cottage is not for you, its a good value comfortable property situated in a great location ideal for exploring the Glencoe/Fort William area.... or just relaxing in the lounge soaking up the view!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diadav
greater manchester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best doggie holiday ever”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just returned from mill cottage after an amazing week spent with family there from the start arranging booking and even to the point we got lost on way speaking to Pete felt like had known him for years extremely friendly we arrived finally at cottage which was clean spacious worked well with younger members of party as shutting doors at one end of cottage couldn't hear them at other the cottage has little faults here and there but what would you expect it was a base to explore that particular part of scotland we would recommend loch leven hotel for views whilst eating and onich hotel for amazing views with food to match short distance to fort william one way glencoe the other and little further to fort Augustus would like to thank Pete and Sarah for providing a comfortable base for us and we will definitely return hopefully soon with our daughter and her new baby when he makes an appearance

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: weather rained some days
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2015
Hi guys, really appreciate your taking the time to review Mill Cottage. Really pleased you guys had such a good time with the family. all the best Pete.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing