We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet retreat in a beautiful area”
Mill Cottage Fort William
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mill Cottage Fort William
Balcony overlooking Loch River views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
42 reviews
Mill Cottage Fort William
Balcony overlooking Loch
River views
Lounge
Kitchen
Dining Room
First Floor Shower Room & WC
Hallway (with Daffy)
Twin Debroom
Master Bedroom
Balcony
Glencoe
Winter Snow
River at Mill Cottage
Ben Nevis
Sunset at Mill Cottage
Autumn evening view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Michael S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Potential, But Cottage Badly Neglected!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Every year our family spends this week in a cottage in this area, watching the local SSDT event. Normally the cottages we stay in are pleasant, and have that holiday feel, however this was a change from the norm.

On arrival it quickly became apparent that the cottage had been suffering from a lack of basic maintenance for some time: All smoke alarms broken, cooker largely inoperable, garden overgrown, radiators scalding, aging decor, and lacking basic cleanliness throughout. We proceeded with our weeks stay as planned, however standards were so far below what we had paid for that we contacted the owner halfway through our stay. He did send his maintenance man round the next day, who fixed a few things, gave the windows their first clean in some considerable time, but little else.

In an attempt to reach a compromising middle ground we suggested some sort of partial refund. This was refused, and some vouchers were promised instead. However 3 weeks on, and these have also failed to materialize.

We are genuinely disappointed, as this is a large property, and its great location gives it massive potential. However until such time as it is afforded some basic cleaning & maintenance, it does no represent value for money in holiday rental market.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you felt the cottage was neglected and the windows were dirty. As a result of your complaint I will increase the frequency of visits by the window cleaner and hope we get some cleaner rain in the future. You should, by now, have received the £50 of vouchers posted to you by recorded delivery.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midenians...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is huge and very comfortable. Pleasant walks all around. My friends and I traveled via public transport and had no problem finding the cottage or getting to and from Fort William. Our only slight complaint was that it was very difficult to warm the house up, but we wrapped up in extra duvets and were comfortable enough we didn't feel the need to contact the owners. Otherwise, everything was great and we thoroughly enjoyed the stay!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2014
Hi Alyssa,

Glad you got home ok. Just wanted to thank you for taking the time in posting a review. I so wish you had given me a call about the heating. We would have had you all toastie in no time.

Unlike many self catering properties we leave the control of the heating to our guests and I appreciate that sometimes getting the temperature balance is sometimes difficult this time of year.

We are glad you were all comfortable enough in the end. Please do let me know though in future though - I'm here to help.

Have a lovely summer

Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Reviewed 25 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Feb 2014
Dear Sorelle,

We are so pleased you all had a wonderful time at our place and thank you so much for taking the time to place your review. We look forward to accommodating you all again.

Please pass on my regards to Dominic and your family.

Warm regards

Pete & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tanya W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect. So lovely. Will be returning in March.”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This place is fantastic. Beautiful location where you can relax and breathe. Great value for money. Lovely owners who gave me a discount, even on last minute booking.
Such an amazing place for a holiday or just a weekend away. One thing would be to clean the cutlery a little better, other than that - perfect. Will be booking again for March as soon as I get the dates set.
Thanks again Mr & Mrs Lovett :)
Tanya x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandi M
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Very nice cottage lots of space extremely well maintained and very clean. Heating system was great It was always lovely and warm inside which was very welcoming when returning from a day out climbing or walking. Beautiful area lots of amazing scenery plenty of mountains and hills to climb/walk would highly recommend for the great outdoors. Ben Nevis was amazing spectacular views from the top and also Pap of Glencoe with stunning views of Glencoe and the Mountains.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$49
/ Night
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing