We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
36
56
44
27
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
56
44
27
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drying room ben nevis big kitchen perfect location communal areas great place to stay great facilities single room comfortable beds amazing views family room climbers plug base storage duvet scenery
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Fantastic. Excellent accommodation. The staff could not do enough to ensure that we enjoyed our stay / we had what we needed. Food was super. Showers were very good. Fully recommend this stunningly refurbished hostel. Will be back. (The door alarms noise is a very minor negative).

Gareth

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank GarethStock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostellingScot, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Nevis Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Gareth,

Thank you for your very kind review on our property last season.

We really appreciate the feedback about our newly refurbished hostel.

We do hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Great place to stay. Staff was very helpful. Our room was good size and very clean. Communal area very comfortable. Excellent size kitchen for self service. Easy to get to. Loved our stay there, will go again!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Meri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostellingScot, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Nevis Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Meri R,

Thank you for your kind feedback about our property last season.

We are extremely proud of the refurbishment and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Beautiful spot, beautifully redesigned and the guests were lovely. But The previous reviewer is spot on. You will not sleep until they admit they have a major problem with the new fire alarm system on the doors. It ruined our overnight and stay as a mini fire alarm goes off whenever anyone enters a room and everyone has 24 hour access. When I raised it politely in the morning I was told it was the other guests fault! But unless everyone is given training in how to open and close the bedroom doors within 2 seconds (without slamming), you will be awake between midnight and 6am as we just were. Wouldn’t complain if it was old fashioned youth hostel rates but at £132 for a family room you are competing with hotels that would sort this sort of thing immediately. Do stay here if you can ring in advance and check they have sorted it. Otherwise avoid it at all costs.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostellingScot, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Nevis Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Christopher C,

Thank you for your review on our newly refurbished property last season.

We appreciate your kind words about our hostel and please be assured that the issues you raised will be looked into.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

We were excited to visit this renovated hostel as some of the first guests. It looks great from outside and is in a super location.

Pros
Kitchen good and well equipped
Security on bedrooms good
Staff incredibly friendly and very helpful
Good dining area

Cons
The sitting room area is tiny. It looks lovely but then you realise that seating for about 6 people is its entirety.

Dear god, the door alarms. They’ve put some weird alarms on the bedroom doors which means that all through the night as people try to enter their rooms, if they hold the room door open (we never managed to figure out what the cause was when we triggered it ourselves) it sets off a piercing alarm. You can imagine, the noise and disturbance, being woken repeatedly. No one can figure the doors out.

Lacks character and the syha atmosphere.

Our bathroom floor was wet in
One corner with bits of debris including someone else’s hair.

Mattresses already felt a bit old.

Overall we felt that we didn’t get value for money and thanks to the door alarms it was the worst night’s sleep for everyone in a 3 week trip.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KatsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostellingScot, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Nevis Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear KatsUk

Thank you for your feedback on our property last season.

We are very proud of our newly refurbished hostel and I am very pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, we do pride ourselves on having these qualities in all our staff. I will ensure that the issues that you have flagged to us are looked into.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

Went to hostel for five nights with high expectations due to publicised renovation of aging dilapidated building and can confirm they have done an excellent job.everything is clean and modern now at least to standard seen in modern hotels.kitchen and showers excellent.with all doors using a key card access or bedroom,kitchen,drying room etc.Staff very helpful and fellow guests friendly and polite.location as always so important and this key strength being opposite ben Nevis and far away from fort William as to be able to do shopping for food trips etc

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank walkingbob_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostellingScot, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Nevis Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Good Afternoon Walkingbob_10

Thank you for your lovely feedback about our property last season.

We are extremely proud of the refurbishment at Glen Nevis and really appreciate your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews