We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great walk”
Review of Steall Waterfall

Steall Waterfall
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Great walk about 1.5-2 hour in total. Nice walk with great vieuw with the waterfall. Fitness: medium with good shoes, take anti insect spay with you. Esspecily if you come closer to the waterfull! Nice hanging bridge.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"car park"
in 224 reviews
"glen nevis"
in 91 reviews
"great walk"
in 71 reviews
"cable bridge"
in 30 reviews
"single track road"
in 30 reviews
"lower falls"
in 26 reviews
"slippery rocks"
in 16 reviews
"beautiful hike"
in 14 reviews
"walking shoes"
in 12 reviews
"well worth the effort"
in 27 reviews
"take your time"
in 15 reviews
"takes about minutes"
in 11 reviews
"fort william area"
in 13 reviews
"sunny day"
in 12 reviews
"stunning views"
in 18 reviews
"wire"
in 169 reviews
"meadows"
in 81 reviews
Filter

103 - 107 of 1 236 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018

Nice wee walk with a smashing reward at the end with both a stunning waterfall and a wire rope bridge that is a must!!!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank r0bertbsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

You will read all range of evaluations on the difficulty of the path climbing up to the top, and I think this is down to 1) that this is subjective and 2) that this is accessible to all level of expertise. As many other says I would just recommend to wear appropriate footwear and suggest avoiding bringing small kids as slippery. The path starts slowly, soon get steep up to the top, to then reach the upper fields where you admire the fall after another short walk. If you are up to it you can then cross the river on the famous three cables bridge, but not needed unless that you really want to and both ways you will enjoy the place and the view. Car park isn't huge so as an alternative you could either park at the parking available before the Glen Nevis Rope Bridge or take the bus from Fort William that equally stops there. This is the park for the lower falls and to reach the higher one you will need to walk up, using the same one lane tiny road used by the cars, but it could avoid useless stress during peak season. Enjoy it

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank 626gianlucab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Slightly challenging for someone who is not as fit as they could be but definitely achievable. Children would need to be supervised as there are risks of falling of the steep edges. However, with care taken this is a worthwhile walk which takes about 45 minutes from the Ben Nevis car park. Sight of the waterfall is the main goal but there is also a challenging rope bridge over the river which my 65 year young husband could not resist. Well worth a visit. Take a drink and relax by the river for a while before returning to the car park. Also, take insect repellent. D

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank LadyD41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

I agree with the last review. I had no concern at all with the height. I was a bit concerned starting the hike due to a few of the other reviews. I don't love heights. The last thing I want on a hike is to be on a small ledge high above the ground. But the path is wide and I found nothing to be uncomfortable with. I actually had to take notice on the way back from the hike where the spots were that others may have deemed a bit scary. I do understand the fear of heights can vary greatly. I think it is a non-issue on this hike for most.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steall Waterfall also viewed

 

Been to Steall Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing