We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent home, fantastic location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 9 Duncraig Street

The Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Living Room
Frontage and Permit Parking Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
The Living Room
Frontage and Permit Parking
Living Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Staircase
Bathroom
Bathroom
Front Bedroom
Front Bedroom
Rear Bedroom
Rear Bedroom
Front Twin Bedroom
Rear Private Garden
No 9 Duncraig Street
Inverness
Inverness Castle
Eden Court Theatre
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Inverness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
JonnyDubl...
Irlanda
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent home, fantastic location ”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Having grown up in Inverness I knew this house was in a great location, just a minute or two walk to the river ness and a comfortable 5 minute stroll from the centre of town.
What surprised me was how spacious the property was; very deceptive if you were only to view from outside. The owners have furnished each room to a very high spec, including all the beds and even the glasses, plates, mugs etc.
I would love to stay in this property again if I have the chance and commend the owners on providing a very comfortable base at a reasonable rate, far better than the other two rentals we stayed in during our Scottish holiday which were nowhere near as comfortable. The only negative was the absence of a dryer, which is a definite issue in the Highlands, especially with a family of five.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren R
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fantastic base in the Highlands!”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We were so happy with our stay here, very cosy & comfortable. Our young boys loved the backyard & sleeping in the smaller bedroom with 2 single beds. The owner is very organised & provides extensive information so we knew how everything worked. We had so much space, especially in the big dining room. Tesco is even just behind the house, too easy! The property has a lovely wooden cottage feel, it was just lovely. Perfectly located to explore this beautiful area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house is wonderful
Liked least: Waiting for extra hot water to heat up so we had enough for everyone
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Roz M
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday home”
Reviewed 31 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I needed a holiday home with plenty of space to stay with my 14 month old daughter while we were visiting friends and family in Inverness. I do not exaggerate when I say I couldn't have chosen anywhere better. As well as being a lovely house, it was spotlessly clean, nicely decorated, warm (very important in Inverness in the winter!) and in a great location, 2 mins walk to a supermarket and 5mins walk into the town centre. It's also set up well for toddlers with sturdy stair gates, a good quality high chair and a decent sized travel cot.

However, this is not the best thing about it. The best thing is the kind and helpful attitude of the owners, Ewen and Donna. For example I asked for the heating to come on a bit earlier; this was done within hours of my request and for good measure the default temperature was turned up too. I was also waiting for my passport to be couriered to the house and it was looking like it might not make it in time for my flight. Ewen and Donna not only reserved the house for me for 2 extra "just in case" days, they let me stay well past the checkout time to await the courier. As it happens everything worked out, but their consideration took all the stress out of the situation.

I cannot recommend 9 Duncraig Street highly enough; a perfect stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Hard to think of something. The kitchen knives were a bit blunt. I can't think of anything else.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruby B
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“9 Duncraig Street is excellent”
Reviewed 21 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous holiday rental. Minutes from St Andrew's Cathedral, Botanic Garden, Caledonian Canal and the city centre just over the bridge. The house was spotless, restful and roomy. A welcome basket of bread and biscuits was a nice touch.
Everything you could want and when I was a bit silly with the central heating boost and contacted the owners, they replied offering advice and help in a friendly way. Yes a great place to stay if you want some space but still close to Inverness city. Oh and a Tesco seconds away made life easy for shopping. Fab Ewen and Donna.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was comfy and clean
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing