We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best short break ever!”
other travellers have booked this property
Well equipped kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Well equipped kitchen
Double room with king size bed Twin room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Well equipped kitchen
Double room with king size bed
Twin room
Living room with TV, DVD and freeview
The view across to the west from living room
One of our local visitors
The local Reelig glen forest walks are just a 3 minute stroll from the door.
Even the tallest people will feel short next to the giants in the 'Fairy Glen'
Stunning local sunsets, although in summer they are rather late in the evening.
Views to the North with Ben Wyvis and its longer walks.
Local beaches have stunning views and plenty of room to exercise dogs (and children!)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Inverness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
kay s
shapinsay
1 review
“Best short break ever!”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely chalet with some thoughtful personal touches such as fresh flowers on the table and fresh milk in the fridge. Very well equipped, complete with washing machine and powder for longer stays. Peanuts were also supplied to feed the red squirrels and numerous birds. The bird song was beautiful. Also not far to walk to Reelig Glen. A definite must see!! How nice to leave the internet at home!! Dog friendly too.hooray!!!!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
Thank you for your kind review, we are so glad to hear that the bird and wildlife made an appearance during your stay, it all helps to re-charge the batteries.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipperdo...
Attleborough
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Woodland Hideaway”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Satchwell was warm and cosy, tucked away in the woods and surrounded by wildlife. It was quite a way out but if you want peace and quiet this would be the place to go. Little tip:- Take your bird book with you as we must have seen about 14 different ones.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wildlife
Liked least: The distance from Inverness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
Thank you for your kind review.

If one is need of peace and quiet, a place to recharge battieries, Satchwell and Baillie are the places to be.

The area is abundant with a variety of wildlife, birds, as mentione. There have also been sightings of badgers, red squirrels and pine marten too.

Thank you for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
Thank you for your kind review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Satchwell. We hope the dogs enjoyed exploring the garden and the surroundings.

Thank you agin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Moira R
1 review
“Woodland Haven”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The surroundings are beautiful, and just a short drive into Inverness. There are lots of birds and we saw a red squirrel every day. The cabin has all the amenities required to make for a comfortable stay and the extra touches of wine, biscuits and milk made us feel very welcome. The only thing missing is a fan! We were there during some hot weather and the cabin was like an oven. However, that didn't spoil it for us - we just bought one. My teenager wasn't happy with no wi-fi, but we were grateful that there was none. We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - its very peaceful with lots of wildlife
Liked least: There was no fan, and the cabin was very hot in the evening.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind review.

We don't advertise the welcome pack as we think its a nice surprise for our guests, especially after a long journey.

We have thought about installing wi-fi but haven't yet as the lack of it is not mentioned all that often and the majority of our guests appreciate the wildlife and the peace and quiet of the chalet and its surrounding area.

Having a fan at the chalet would be a good idea, thank you for the suggestion. We will look into them.

Thank you again and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Satchwell.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aileen D
1 review
“Peaceful Haven”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A very comfortable chalet everything that you needed ,including a welcome pack which was very much appreciated The peaceful location and wildlife was amazing with daily visits from the red squirrels and numerous different birds .Could not have wished for anything more
Thank you Daniel and Sarah

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful Location
Liked least: Nothing springs to mind
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind review.

We are so glad top hear that you enjoyed your time at Satchwell and that some of the wildlife came to say hello during your stay.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;