We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Will definitely be back!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Inverness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

126Paulin...
Rosehearty, United Kingdom
1 review
“Will definitely be back!!!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed in the cottage over New Year and thoroughly enjoyed it. We felt right at home from the minute we arrived. The welcome basket was a lovely surprise. The cottage itself had loads of space yet felt cosy and homely. We travelled with our two kids, one aged 9 and the other just 18 months, and neither of them wanted to leave when it was time to go home. The cottage is in a really quiet setting, yet only a short distance from Nairn and Inverness, so there is loads to do if you find it too quiet. All in all, a great break. We will definitely be back.

Date of stay: December 2013
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2014
We look forward to seeing you again! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay over New Year. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Best wishes, Barbara.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bunnyr12
New England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“SImply Wonderful”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Our extended family of 6 stayed at the Barn of the Balblair Cottages for 6 nights and could not have asked for a more lovely home base for our time in the Highlands. Situated on a farm just off the A96, the location was perfect or exploring the area, both west to Inverness, Loch Ness, etc. and east to the Whisky Trail, Nairn, Elgin, etc. The Barn has all the charm of an old stone cottage with all the modern amenities we could have wanted including washing machine, dish washer, flat screen television, Wi-Fi, full kitchen, 2 bathrooms, comfortable and well-appointed bedrooms and enough comfortable sitting room in both living room area and dining area... and a couple of friendly ponies who greeted us each morning and evening. :) There are also 2 smaller cottages available for smaller groups and I will recommend Balblair Cottages to everyone I hear travelling to the area. Thank you Strachan family for your gracious hospitality!

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the combination of cosy cottage appeal with all modern conveniences
Liked least: nothing, no complaints at all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenward12...
Wigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a lovely place!”
Reviewed 7 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed in 'The Barn' at Balblair for just 2 nights (not long enough) as we came to visit our friends in Forres for a weekend. What a lovely cottage that was perfect for 6 adults. Everything was spotless, the beds were really comfortable, bedding and towels were all good quality. The lovely smelling Scottish hand soap in both bathrooms and tea and coffee in the kitchen cupboards were nice touches that made all the difference. The surrounding countryside was stunning with bright yellow fields all around the cottage. We will definitely be staying here again and hopefully for longer next time:-) Overall a highly recommended property!

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How clean it was
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: well equipoped cottage in peaceful location ( but not too far from anywhere )
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Apr 2013
Thanks for all the tips of where to go and what to do, especially for families. The ponies may have put on a wee bit of weight with all the extra carrots but they loved having the girls stay...as did we. Best wishes, Barbara.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RosyA100
2 reviews
“Excellent accommodation in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 28 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We had previously stayed in the smaller cottage - the Bothy a number of years ago and were impressed with the welcome, cleanliness of the cottage and idealic views. We returned with our 2 year old to stay in the Barn which was perfect for our needs. Our daughter had lots of room to roam, loved being out in the secure garden and of course the cows, ponies, sheep and chickens were a big hit. The Barn was spotless and had everything we needed for a comfortable and relaxed stay. Barbara offered a lovely welcome. We will definitely be back. Ideally placed to make use of amenities in both Nairn and Inverness.

Date of stay: January 2013
Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
South Africa
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.