We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pentland Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel(Thurso)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
31
57
40
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
57
40
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday carveryhalf portiondeep fried foodthe buffet style breakfastsmall bathreplenished regularlyan older hotelpasta dishesbit datedlast minute bookingfriendly hotelsingle roomfamily roomold fashioneddining roomwine listrooms are clean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One night stop over. On street parking not ideal as it is on a busy street. Check in straight forward enough. Room on the small side, thin walls and squeaky floor. Not sure if there is a lift but there are some areas with small steps between corridors, not great if you have restricted mobility. As with many hotels in the north, the rooms could do with a little bit of investment. Food was ok,. Bit risky at breakfast, hot buffet lids were stainless steel with a bit of napkin to protect your fingers from the heat. Jury is out as to whether I would book again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firebirdmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amccinv, Owner at Pentland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello firebirdmag
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are sorry that you were a little disappointed with your visit. We are slowly renovating the hotel in various sections, and we hope that if you choose to stay with us again you will be delighted to see them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Ask for room 1 its a nice little room could be warmer but its March and 2 degrees outside but its comfy and has all the facilities. Restaurant servers great food and good prices and service. If your in Thurso this hotel restaurant are well worth a visit and price will suit your pocket.

Room Tip: Room 1 is very comfortable and is highly recommended
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deepdiver2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amccinv, Owner at Pentland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello Deepdiver2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad you had a comfortable stay with us, and could provide you with good food and service during your visit to Thurso. I hope you will join us again next time you are in Caithness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

I stayed here during the period of beast from the east. The staff are very friendly and professional. The room though dated was comfortable enough except for the rather draughty windows. With the beastly wind blowing against the window the room quickly became rather chilly. In the end I crammed tissues round the window to block the draughts.
The food in the restaurant though home cooked and none of your frozen rubbish was ok but I felt that the oil for cooking the chips needed changing as it had a tainted taste.
Breakfast however was excellent.
The free wifi had a good signal throughout the hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amccinv, Owner at Pentland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Hello Dave
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit.
We are so glad you had a comfortable stay with us, out of the horrid weather! We will certainly look into the window of the room you stayed in, thank you for bringing this to our attention.
We are delighted our team looked after you well, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Stayed here for two nights. The hotel needs a makeover, holes in linoleum in reception, but I don't want to concentrate on that. I had a great stay! The hotel is very clean and the employees obviously enjoy working there. Nothing was too much trouble. David was really good at his job as were the several receptionists I spoke to - perhaps name badges as an idea? Room was fine, no problems with shower or hot water. Wall mounted TV, large mirror and dressing table, wardrobe. View not great but who stays in a room to look at a view? Best part for me was buying a pint in the evening and sitting in the lounge in front of the fire reading a book. I had the steak and ale pie, which was delicious and plentiful. Breakfast is a buffet style (a bit difficult for some people to reach as it is set on a counter but I was offered help by the waitress). No complaints.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fair_n_Honest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amccinv, Owner at Pentland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Hello Fair_n_Honest
Thank you reviewing your stay with us!
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit, and that the staff made your stay comfortable. Sitting by the fire with a book is always a favourite for guests, especially with the weather we have been having!
We will certainly look into name badges for our staff, as we are very proud of the service they provide.
Thank you again, and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Stayed at the Pentland on the 13th February 2018 for one night. Can't fault it in any way. Friendly helpful staff, spotless rooms and excellent dinner b&b. The hotel is well used by the locals and that in itself says something. I would recomend this to anyone looking for a good hotel near the railway station. The buffet breakfast was really hot which makes a change from most hotels, good choice on the dinner menu. We would stay at the pentland any time!
My compliments to all the staff who dealt with us!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BOB P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amccinv, Owner at Pentland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Hello BOB P
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us on the 13th, we love our guests to leave well rested and with full stomachs! Our team work tirelessly to make sure that all our visitors have the best stay possible.
Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews