We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to get away from it all”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rowan Cottage

Rowan Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rowan Cottage
Living Room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Rowan Cottage
Living Room
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bathroom1
Bathroom2
Kitchen Dining
Garden Area
View over fields
Verandah
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Patricia...
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place to get away from it all”
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely log cabin, in a perfect location. Very well equipped. Dog friendly. Just what you need to recharge the batteries.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenrob999
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quiet New Year Break”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Had a busy Christmas so we were looking for a relaxed New Year.
We were not disappointed.

Ideally we don't take dogs on holiday but our usual kennels took a break this new year so took them this time, reason we don't normally take them is places that accept dogs usually not the cleanest. This is really not the case for Rowan, not only is it spotless it has everything you would need. As far as I could tell the only thing it didn't have was a dishwasher or hoover, and do you really need these when you are on holiday?
Owners met us on arrival and gave us a quick introduction to property and demonstrated heating etc, both very friendly and helpful said they were next door if we needed anything - we didn't but got the impression if we asked anything they would have been happy to help, told us some nice places to visit for walks with the dogs.
Great break and couldn't fault in any way would happily recommend and hopefully we will return, maybe try and hit better weather next time as area looked lovely but in battering wind and rain we got sure it was not at its best . That said still great and like I say we will hopefully return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romanshorn, Switzerland
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: we coould adjust the heating to our requirements.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mickpeep
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely out of the way cabin”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were met by a very nice and friendly Sylvia and provided with fresh eggs and flowers lovely touch the cabin has everything you need for your stay and a new large screen tv has recently been put in, A great view over the fields to the Orkneys with other fields of sheep and cows and the family dogs three cats and several chickens and a very proud cockerel, as with all holiday lets the population is ageing and the installation of grab rails in the shower over bath would be a great help and the settees are rather low, it is very quiet of a night with the only sound heard as mentioned by other guests is the mechanical timer for the heating in the hall (digital timers are quiet) but all said we had a lovely stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was quiet and peaceful
Liked least: The cottage itself could do with a bit of TLC nothing stays new forever
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelte...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great cottage,lots to do and see around the area,relaxing stay the cottage is in a perfect
location very quiet,eggs and fresh flowers on arrival gave it that extra touch,will return here again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Thanks for the review we hope to see you again sometime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing