We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
12
23
31
26
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
23
31
26
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room layout several buildings tour buses shower and toilet tea coffee facilities bit dated dining room checking in full scottish night's sleep stayed nights yogurt mgm furnishings ingredients wardrobe stopover
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018

This hotel is right in the center of town. The staff was friendly and we were able to keep our bikes in a storage area off the main lobby. The hotel has not been refurbished in many years. Getting to our room was like navigating a labyrinth, but once there it was clean and comfortable. At breakfast the next morning we were surprised to see the dining room packed, but we were able to order a cooked breakfast without much of a wait and it was served very quickly. Half way through our breakfast the dining room cleared out as 3 or 4 tour buses departed.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility issues ask for a room near the elevator
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DanVA59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager T, General Manager at Muthu Royal Thurso Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear DANVA59- thank you for your review which is much appreciated. Your feedback is much appreciated, however I would like to clarify, that the hotel has been partly refurbished in the last six months, however as you will appreciate, we are an established hotel with character as opposed to a characterless lodge style property and therefore unable to make some of the structural changes we would like to, however there is fresh paint and plasterwork and for peace of mind, updating of safety features such as electrics etc. We are continually looking to improve our offerings. Our traditional Highland Breakfast is a firm favourite with our guests and we are often complimented on our staff and the good levels of service they provide. We do hope you will return in the future and stay with us again.Until then, we send our sincere best wishes and an enjoyable stay in Scotland.

Sincere regards

Michael and the Royal Hotel Thurso Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Free parking at hotel and not too far from where i was working.
The staff at reception and throughout hotel were helpful and pleasant at all times and went out of there way to be interested in you during your stay.
The food was good in the restaurant and was made where possible with local produce and always came hot to your table. The room i was in was comfortable with double bed and on suite facilities of shower and all other suitable equipment. They also had tea & coffee facilities in the room and i was not disturbed by the traffic even though it is close to the main road.

Room Tip: The Hotel is convenient for shopping and other amenities.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager T, General Manager at Muthu Royal Thurso Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear William from Keith. Sincere thanks for your kind and positive review.We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It means so much to us and I will certainly pass your comments on to all the staff concerned, who work so hard to meet our guests expectations. We hope you will return and stay with us again in the future, until then we send our sincere thanks once again and our very best wishes.

Sincerely


Michael
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

A group of us stayed here for a night before a long trip. Initial impressions were of a hotel from the eighties, quite a dated look to the reception. Checking in was easy enough, though finding the rooms was a bit more difficult than it should be through the maze of doors and steps. The room looked every bit as dated as reception, the most modern part being a very small flat screen TV. The bathroom was adequate and probably the most recently done up part. Now there were 2 reasons I had a bad sleep: firstly the room was like an oven and the curtains were almost as see-through as the windows behind, so the extended hours of daylight of scottish summer did no favours. Secondly, a German woman decided to have a lengthy phone call at 5 in the flipping morning in the corridor, revealing a distinct lack of any sort of soundproofing. Overall the experience wasn't great. It serves a purpose but the lack of recent investment in the decor and furnishing really let's it down.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Coliningrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager T, General Manager at Muthu Royal Thurso Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Guest- we appreciate the time taken to write a review following your stay with us. We are however sorry to learn another guest was inconsiderate by using a telephone outside your door early in the morning. In respect of your other comments, your feedback is invaluable -if you could let me know which room you occupied, I will personally check the curtains and the soundproofing on the door. With regards to the hotel décor dating from the eighties, I would like to assure you that a substantial investment has been made in decorating/updating the property since the current owners purchased the hotel in August last year. Whilst I agree the décor is not ultra modern, it is however clean and tidy and fully functional and is in keeping with a character hotel of this region and has received Three Star Status from visit Scotland. Further investment will however be made in the near future to improve overall standards and facilities, however in the meantime, we promise to offer traditional Highland and a warm and friendly welcome to all our guests.

Sincerely

Michael
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

The rooms are clean and comfortable, ideal for an overnight stay on the way to Orkney. The staff were very helpful and a special mention for Craig who convinced us to eat in the hotel bar. The food we were served was first class with everything freshly cooked. Plenty of choice at breakfast with continental and full Scottish to set you up for the day.

All in all a pleasant stay, it may not be The Ritz but then again you aren't paying Ritz prices. We wold stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelD9423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager T, General Manager at Muthu Royal Thurso Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Dear Michael D -on behalf of the Muthu Royal Thurso team, may I take this opportunity to sincerely thank you for your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we sincerely hope you will return and visit us again soon. You are quite correct in saying we are ideally situated for those visiting Orkney as well as those travelling on the North Coast 500 route. We offer clean and comfortable accommodation where guests can enjoy freshly cooked wholesome food in a well stocked bar. We provide free WiFi and free parking too. Guests can also relax in our comfortable residents lounge .Our location is ideal for guests to visit the nearby beach and river and to explore Thurso town itself, where there are some delightful shops and an excellent museum, A warm welcome and true Highland hospitality awaits you.

Sincerely

Michael
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

I took a coach party to the North of Scotland and the Orkneys. We had the misfortune of staying 2 nights in this hotel before crossing to the Orkneys. Some of the bedrooms were alright but we were allocated some rooms on the front, including the coach driver) which were exceptionally noisy from the nightclub or bar below some of these rooms. Many of my passengers got very little sleep including the coach driver who only managed about 3 hours after a long days drive to reach this hotel. He went downstairs to ask the night porter for another room and the attitude of the man was that he couldn't care less and said he could not do anything! The evening meal and breakfast were very poor, they were very understaffed in the restaurant and one of the staff did his very best to help us under difficult circumstances. There was 3 coaches in for breakfast and 140 people with just 4 waiters trying to cope. I certainly would not recommend this hotel and would not use it again

Room Tip: At the back of the hotel
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Christine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager T, General Manager at Muthu Royal Thurso Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

We appreciate this feedback, however, we were sad to learn of this reviewers comments which we have taken seriously. I have personally spoken to the reviewer on the telephone and explained the following- Firstly, the bar mentioned is not part of the hotel and there are odd occasions when their patrons or others passing in the street do make some noise . Whilst we have no control over this, we have made a formal complaint to the Bar owner, the Police and the local Council, however to reduce the risk of complaint, we try where possible to house guests away from this area. With regards to the Driver's request to move rooms, we would advise that the driver was offered another room, however he wanted to be near to a particular room and therefore refused the room we offered.With respect to the comment re the quality of the food,I will follow up on this with the Head Chef, however in general, considering the number of guests staying here on a weekly basis, we receive very few complaints in respect of food and therefore the comments could be on most occasions down to personal choice. The reviewer mentions inadequate staffing - with four staff for 140 guests. I would advise that we had three coaches in the hotel at the time these guests stayed. There is a 30 minute interval between coach group sitting down to eat and this means there are 4 staff to 35 guests and this is usually adequate and satisfactory. Our aim is to ensure we meet and exceeds guest expectations and please rest assured my team and I will go the extra mile to ensure our guests leave satisfied.

SIncerely

Michael
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews