We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit...”
Review of Bydand

Bydand
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Thurso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A quaint restaurant located in the heart of the highland town of Thurso. Family run establishment serving locally sourced meat and fish produce. We offer USB charging points near most tables and superfast fibre wifi throughout, free of charge.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

...to this restaurant in its new incarnation since it ceased to be ‘le Bistro’. Menu has something for everyone of whatever taste or appetite, without being ridiculously long. Brian (chef/owner) took time out to chat to us and this, together with the very good service from the 2 waitresses, enhanced our dining experience. We both had scallops for a starter and pan fried chicken breast for mains washed down with a bottle of Australian Shiraz. We really enjoyed our food and will return when the opportunity arises. WiFi available.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank RGOL44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018

A small family run restaurant so best to make a booking to guarantee a table.
Staff gave a warm welcome on arrival and immediately showed us to our table. They were helpful re food choices and information on the specials available that day. Food is supplied from local merchants so always fresh.
We had scallops for starters and they were absolutely delicious. So easy to overcook these but not here - they were just perfect.
Mains - we had pork cheek and also sea bass. The pork was a good sized portion and beautifully cooked. The sea bass was also very well cooked and tasted really nice. It would have benefited from a sauce being added but tasty none the less.
We didn't have a dessert as we didn't have room for it. However, all customers received a delicious complimentary cup cake that evening to celebrate the Royal wedding - a nice touch.
Wine - not a massive selection but enough to satisfy most. Prices were not expensive.
For such a new venue - think it had only been opened 5/6 weeks when we had dined - it has set a high standard with good local produce presented beautifully on the plate with taste to match. Prices considering the quality, service and surroundings is very reasonable.
Would recommend.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wilton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

A beautiful meal, and a wonderful place to eat. Brian and Angela are excellent hosts I will visit again soon and I thoroughly recommend a visit

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank jackgeldart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

The risotto was lovely, service excellent but other aspects were desirable. Ordered a cup of tea only for a cup of warm water, small jug of milk and a tea bag to be provided on the side. Very disappointing that beautiful food would be tarnished with this lack of attention to detail. For the price of the food I would expect the finer details like a teapot to have been provided.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bernard145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

My wife and I had paninis and soup for lunch. The soup was fine. The service was fine. But the paninis had a strange flavor, which we eventually concluded was from stale bread; it had a sort of been-unwrapped-a-long-time-in-the-refrigerator flavor. The paninis were quite plain, just the grilled bread roll and the meat (a minimal amount of low-flavor beef in my case), plus, in our case, as an extra, cheese, which was something orange colored. There were no sides included; a salad and chips were available as extras. Sauces were offered. The "milkshake" ordered by one of us was not what we understand to be a milkshake. It was just mildly chocolate milk. So ... given the many positive reviews of Bydand, I'd say one might better stick to the high end menu items.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GlenGrant52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bydand also viewed

Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
Scrabster, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Scrabster, Caithness and Sutherland
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Bydand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing